Fennel Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I bought a fennel bulb because I needed the greens in a fruit compote. Found this recipe via ingredient search. Most of our family loved this salad. Those who dislike fennel agreed it would still be an awesome side dish minus fennel! Definitely will make this again... probably for company, 'cause this is a really different and pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Ooo-wee this is yummy! I used zucchini instead of cucumber and fermented red bell peppers instead of banana peppers because that's what I had on hand. I added a splash of the lacto-rich cultured liquid from the fermented peppers and a dash of balsamic vinegar. I loved this served with a side of lightly steamed and chilled asparagus -- will definitely make this again for me & my girlfriends, but probably not for my kids (who wouldn't touch it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is soo good! A MUST try! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Thanks for providing this recipe! It's so refreshing, I've made it several times now. We've used it as as an appetizer as well as a side. Due to food allergies, I replaced the honey with maple syrup and the onions with either chives or the green part of scallions and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been trying to reduce heartburn and fennel is amazing for that purpose. So, I made this salsa. I really liked it and it worked well for chips. My boyfriend would probably have given this 3 stars. I did find that it was a bit runny/liquidy, but I suppose you could simply pour out the excess liquid. I made this for a second time yesterday. It wasn't too wet. I wonder if we measured the ingredients wrong the first time. I took it to my cousin's and all of it was eaten in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Very refreshing and different. It was a huge hit at the BBQ that I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Give this salsa a chance...the second day brings about wonderful flavors that meld together over time. We just discovered fennel and now have a great use for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Rave reviews from co-workers and several people requested the recipe. Will be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I can't believe it! I actuallylike this and I HATE fennel (ok. I can choke it down but it is not my favorite...). Like another reviewer, I used lime juice but that was the only subs. Also used only 1T honey. The flavors really do each other justice. We will be eating this with homemade tacos tomorrow for lunch. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Delicious! Next time I'll add a bit more avocado, but it's really good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States