Fennel and Watercress Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a very delicious salad if you can find some nice fresh fennel and watercress. Try Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
what a great combination of flavors! This salad is unique and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very delicious salad. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was so easy and delicious. Made a weeknight meal feel special. Didn't have radichio on hand so left it out and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This salad really grew on me. It was a 4 with the first few bites, but by the time I finished, I wanted more. I halved the recipe, and even that made a ton--but the leftovers are just as good. If you have a mandoline, I'd suggest using that to cut the fennel nice and thin so it'll blend better with the salad, or you could use a food processor with the slicer blade. The only change I'd suggest is to add more cranberries and pecans, because they add a lot to the flavor but get somewhat lost with the amount of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I too skipped the radiccio and couldn't find any cranberries in the house. So I subbed diced dates for the c-berries, toasted walnuts for the pecans and added onion and goat cheese. I used a mandoline to slice the fennel and onion. For the dressing I added a crushed garlic clove and 2 tsp. of Dijon mustard. I used white wine vinegar instead of the red and balsamic. I took this to work potluck and the only things that were gone were my salad and the pecan pie. I warned people that the watercress tended to strike some as bitter. One person asked what the"white stuff" was and when I told her it was fennel she was surprised since she said she hated fennel. I will use this as a jumping off recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was excellent! I live by myself so I actually made 1/6 of the recipe. Makes quite a bit for a single gal but I kept the dressing in a jar instead of putting it all on the salad as I knew I'd be eating it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Fabulous! The did not have radicchio, so sadly had to omit. Can not wait to make it again!! I reduced the servings to 5, but the dressing ingredients did not change, so I have tons of leftover dressing. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The combination of flavors are great but I used this recipe as a starting point. I modified it as follows to serve 6: 1 fennel bulb, 2 stalks celery, 1 bag shredded red cabbage, pistachios toasted, fennel seeds toasted, and a little blue cheese tossed in at the end. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States