Fennel and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I loved this salad! My family liked it. The salad has a lot of flavor. I made it as a side dish to a quiche. My daughter thought the tastes of the two dishes were too strong, for they didn't compliment. I put two small cans of Mandarin oranges in the salad, which gave it a nice sweet touch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This salad is a very nice change from more traditional lettuce salads. Fennel has a mild anise flavor- don't be afraid to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I found the fennel flavor to be a bit too overwhelming. My grocer had both large and small fennel bulbs. I used the larger and if I were to make this again I would use a smaller bulb or just use part of a larger bulb. However, the oranges do pair well with the fennel and tone that fennel flavor down. I also used baby spinach instead of arugala. I do not recommend this. Arugala has more flavor than baby spinach. However, this does make for a very pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmcminn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is absolutely delicious, and I now make it every week or two! The first time I brought it to work, people thought I had gotten it at a fancy deli. They kept saying, "Wow, it looks beautiful!" They were impressed with the fennel too; a few of them had never seen the bulb before. The flavor was wonderful. I also threw in some dried cranberries, which really added to the presentation. If you really wanted to be fancy, you could throw some toasted chopped pecans on there. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i just made this for thanksgiving and once the family got passed "what is fennel?" they seemed to really like it. The presentation is phenomenal (i added cranberries as someone suggested) and the colors were great. It was a great, healthy light salad that I'm sure I'll be making alot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I think I kept my fennel in the veggie crisper too long as I think it lost it's flavor. I will buy some more and use it right away. I was so bummed it just didn't have the PUNCH I wanted it to have. I'll re-review when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I asked my family what they thought of the salad and they said it was ok but not all that great. I liked it though. I thought the oranges and fennel went well together. I peeled the oranges before slicing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
A yummy, easy and very pretty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgrether

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I love fresh fennel, and I really enjoyed this salad! To make it work best, just make sure that you have the freshest fennel and oranges available, since they are essentially the basis of the recipe. The poppy seads are a great touch! The only change that I made was to double the amount of vinegar since the red wine vinegar that I had on hand was relatively mild. This is a wonderful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States