Fennel and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just made this and was impressed. I added dried cranberries per suggestion, and used 1/2 bulb fennel (only white part) plus one carrot, but everything else as written. I put it on a bed of raw kale rather than arugula. The only thing I might think about is whether an herb could tie the flavors together. As is, the flavor was light with the vinegar and juice from the oranges, but I thought it could use something else. Letting it meld for a while before eating might fix this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was a refreshing change for a salad. I added of a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds and substituted baby romaine for arugula. My husband and I are interested in healthy recipes and both enjoyed it. No leftovers! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Loved the dressing with the fennel and orange. Very refreshing and a great change to regular tomato cuke salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This salad was good but we thought it could use a bit of sweetness. We added pomegranate seeds and drizzled a touch of honey over it and it was superb! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very good, easy to make - I used two small ruby red grapefruits and really enjoyed it. I liked the mix of the tangy grapefruit and the nuttiness of the arugula, and the flavor of the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I used tinned mandarin oranges, and I didn't have red wine vinegar (I thought I did when I went to make this), so I substituted cider vinegar. It was the first time I have used fennel and was pleasantly surprised at the mild flavor of it. It was a nice change for a salad, and I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
used butter lettuce instead of arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was the first time I had ever made anything with fennel. The fennel was a bit chewy so I roasted it in some oil and honey. I thought the dish was delicious, but it wasn't as big a hit as I would have thought with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We thought this was a nice change. Very summery tasting. Next time I would chop the fennell and oranges into smaller bite size pieces. I made it the night before serving, next time I would make it two nights before. It was much better today for lunch. Less vinegar taseting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
A good change from the usual green salad! I did make a few changes to the recipe: I added sliced red onion, sliced toasted almonds (instead of poppy seeds) and served it over baby spinach (instead of arugula.) I didn’t get as much fennel flavor as I had hoped… but, the salad was still quite tasty. I think I’ll make it again, with a few additional changes. Thanks, Barrett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States