Fennel and Celery Root Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
this is the best thing since the invention of pizza thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I followed this recipe as it was written with the exception of using Gruyere instead of cheddar. While the flavor was okay, the cream became thinner instead of reducing to a thicker consistancy. Maybe it would have helped if I had baked the casserole uncovered. The recipe neglected to state oven temperature so I baked it at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I used sharp white cheddar cheese, Granny Smith apples, and leeks instead of onions. I did not need to steam the leeks first, just sliced crosswise into 1/8" pieces. This is a great recipe, a very nice use of "nontraditional" root vegetables, and with the apple and cheese, it is also "sweet and savory". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Mmmm! We followed this recipe pretty closely. The only changes were that we accidentally left the foil off, and added a touch of nutmeg. We had the oven at 350, moving it up to 400 for the last few minutes to brown the cheese. It was delicious! Sweet, savory, rich. Went wonderfully as a side dish to pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe is a good idea, but I think it needs some texture help. I cooked it, uncovered, and it came out watery. The cream got chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I would definitely just make a roux next time - the whipping cream was too heavy, and it was liquid-y, as someone else mentioned. Also, cooked at 375 for 40 minutes, but the temp isn't listed. I'm sure there's a better way to cook these lovely veggies that doesn't take the good stuff out of them like this one seems to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
delicious!! I made this using 1/2 the cream and subbed half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was my first time cooking Fennel and Celery Root. It tasted delicious! I forgot to steam the onion with the other veggies but it was still wonderful. I used Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Flavors came together well! We substituted 1 small apple & 1 medium pear in place of the large apple 1 can cream of chicken soup in place of the whipping cream Cooked it uncovered and it was nicely creamy and browned on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We enjoyed this casserole and will make it again. The only change we would make is to somehow thicken up the heavy cream sauce. It was kind of soupy but overall very tasty! Cook time was fairly accurate. We left it in a little longer (6 min.) trying to thicken it. Didn't work but didn't hurt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States