Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Very good cookies. I added peanut butter chips. My only suggestion would be to bake at 375 for 10 minutes (instead of 12-15 as suggested in the recipe) to ensure a chewy cookie -- after being in the oven for 10 minutes, my cookies had a slightly crunchy edge with a chewy center. All in all, very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
THIS IS THE PERFECT PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE! I've tried ALOT of recipes, and this is the very best! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. I did divide the dough and added milk chocolate chips with peanut butter chips to some of it and butterscotch chips to some. Those were great too as well as the cookies without chips. You don't have to refrigerate this dough at all, it's ready to use as soon as you make it. Good job!! I would give this 10 or more stars if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Delicious cookies. I couldn't stop eating them, even as soon as they came out of the oven. I found that baking them for ONLY 10 minutes at 375 was sufficient enough, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Cook the cookies for 10 minutes. Dip a fork in water then in white sugar to flatten slightly. This method works much better than flour on the fork. Sprinkle white sugar on top of the cookies as soon as they are taken out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
DURING THE TIME OF MAKING THIS RECIPE I WAS PREGNANT, AND I FOUND IT TO BE INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS! I DID REDUCE THE TIME OF BAKING BY 3-4 MINUTES. COOKIES ARE SO SOFT AND CHEWY! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
No problems, issues or criticisms. This is a basic, classic peanut butter cookie. Nothing extraordinary about it other than there are no problems or issues with the recipe - and in my mind, that's a good thing. I added a little salt to make the flavor come alive, just shy of 1/2 teaspoon. Rather than margarine, which I never use, I substituted half butter and half shortening. What I particularly liked about this recipe is that while most peanut butter cookie recipes call for equal amounts of fat and peanut butter, this one calls for a smidge more peanut putter. I rolled the dough balls in granulated sugar, then pressed the criss-cross pattern into the cookie with more granulated sugar rather than flour. They came out of the oven shaped pretty much the same way they went in - no surprises, which is also a good thing. The cookie has a light texture and is slighty crispy. These are rather small cookies, so I might consider making the dough balls bigger for a more generous-sized cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
These cookies have definitely been around for a long time. My grandmother's recipe (which is almost identical to this one) yeilds a good cookies. The criss-cross pattern on top is a traditional must and to make it an even more sweet treat, drop a hershey's kiss in the center half way through baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
This is a wonderful basic peanut butter cookie recipe. It took me nearly half an hour that didnt have special ingredients. I thought I was going to have to buy a Cookbook! I tried some variations, I baked them in mini muffin pans with Hersheys chocolate inside, I put Hersheys kisses on top, and finally, I made the tiniest balls and put a single semi-sweet chocolate chip on... Great recipie! Everything worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
these are great cookies! the second time I made them, I added 1/2 cup of mini choc chips and just rolled in a ball and baked. very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These turned out really good. Perfect balance between the peanut butter and sugar tastes. They were light but still chewy..the way I like them. I used my mini muffin pan and baked for about 5 min. then i smashed them down and put in a peanut butter cup candy in the "tart". My boyfriend put chocolate chips in some too. I used the leftover dough to make the plain ol cookies. All were wonderful. I highly recommend this recipe. The best part is you don't have to refrigerate it..mix it up and there you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States