Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great basic recipe. I made the original batch and added different toppings to each: Hershey's Kisses, mini Peanut Butter Cups, chocolate chips, and regular old pressed cookies. Each was slightly different, but equally delicious. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I can't imagine what I did wrong, but these didn't turn out at all. A very floury, non-peanut buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
excellent, very tastey i cooked them at 350 for 10 min. it made about 3 1/2 doz for me. they turned out perfect thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very good peanut butter cookies. I did not quite yield 54 cookies or 4 1/2 dozen cookies; I ended up with 40 cookies or 3 dozen and 4 cookies. I baked them for 10 minutes (almost 11 minutes) for softer cookies; for slightly crispier cookies I would suggest baking them longer intervals at 12 to 15 minutes. Some batches I left in the oven a little longer to crisp them up a bit more for those in my family who like crunchier cookies. The next time I make these I will make a note to roll the cookie dough into larger size balls to make a slightly larger size cookie (personal preference). A nice balance between the peanut butter, butter and flour measurement. Cookies tasted very peanutty! Just how I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
No problems, issues or criticisms. This is a basic, classic peanut butter cookie. Nothing extraordinary about it other than there are no problems or issues with the recipe - and in my mind, that's a good thing. I added a little salt to make the flavor come alive, just shy of 1/2 teaspoon. Rather than margarine, which I never use, I substituted half butter and half shortening. What I particularly liked about this recipe is that while most peanut butter cookie recipes call for equal amounts of fat and peanut butter, this one calls for a smidge more peanut putter. I rolled the dough balls in granulated sugar, then pressed the criss-cross pattern into the cookie with more granulated sugar rather than flour. They came out of the oven shaped pretty much the same way they went in - no surprises, which is also a good thing. The cookie has a light texture and is slighty crispy. These are rather small cookies, so I might consider making the dough balls bigger for a more generous-sized cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe :) If you have an extra sweet tooth like I do, you may find that they could use a little powdered sugar sprinkled on top. My family loved them. I found that cooking them for 13 min at 375 degrees made the cookies achieve a perfect crunchy/soft balance. Thanks a lot for the recipe, Anita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've been searching for the best PB cookie recipe and THIS is it! I like a crunchier cookie so I cooked them the 12-15 min. The taste, the texture....WONDERFUL!!! This is a keeper! :) Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Not bad. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with 58 cookies. After the first batch, which was quite dark on the bottom, I realized that 1. I needed to raise my baking rack up and reduce the cooking time, and 2. There was not enough sugar. I rolled the rest of the cookies in granulated sugar and baked them for 10 minutes at one notch above centre, removing them from the pan as soon as they came out of the oven. They came out fine then. In the future, I might add an extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla, a bit more sugar, and I would probably add some chocolate drizzle or chips, just for personal preference. Still a nice easy recipe that I will keep in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I was really pleased with this recipe. It makes a nice, moist, slightly chewy peanut-butter cookie with good flavor. We stuck chocolate Kisses on the top of each one right when they came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was GREAT!!! I made a few changes..instead of margarine (because I had none) I used oil and then I added about 2 tblspoons of Maple Syrup. Also substituted creamy PB for Crunchy!! It was tastey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States