Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wonderful! I doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup applesauce. I'll definitely make this again! I made so many things for Christmas but this was one of my favorites. Next time I think I would try half molasses with half honey. I think that would be better for my taste. I used unsulphured molasses as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TotalJen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent gingerbread; although, like many others, I did not make this 'as is.' I needed it gluten free, so I used 1/2 -all purpose gluten-free flour and 1/2 Millet flour instead of regular flour, used 1/4c of applesauce in place of 1/2 the butter, as others did, and 1/4c brown sugar for 1/2 of the molasses (used un-sulfered molasses per other reviewer recommendations), doubled the cinnamon, cloves, and ginger (per other reviewer recommendations), and the rest as is. Baked it in regular loaf pan, for 1 hr 3 minutes so the middle passed the 'knife test', let cool and sprinkled with powdered confectioners sugar, and served still warm...SOOOO good and spicy! Perfect for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TotalJen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Not enough spice and very dry..will continue my search for the perfect gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Flavor was great, but it was a bit too dry. I followed other people's suggestion and doubled the spices which was a great choice. Next time I will add more water, butter, and cook less to make it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Per recommendations I doubled the spice and added 3/4 cup of apple sauce. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very nice! I added extra cinnamon and used a little less butter and it came out really good. I'll definitely make one more before Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
We loved this recipe - pure indulgence! Soft and full of molasses and yummy Chrismas spices. I added some more ginger (maybe 2-3 times the amount - but this was based on my taste preference), a dash more cloves, a good dash of nutmeg and a little less sugar - I figured the molasses would make up and it would still be sweet. I baked it in a 9inch springform pan and put some foil paper over it about 30mins into baking time to prevent any burning. It was easy to slide off the springform base and place onto a cake server. I also dusted a light amount of confectioners sugar. I served it warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice-cream - we live in the South... :-) This is a favorite recipe now and will be made again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Sorry, but I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and loved it! BUT I did listen to those who did it before me and so I added 1/3 cup sour cream (to make it more moist), used 1/2 cup less four, and added more ginger and spices -cause I like to have a stronger flavor. Ended up giving the (adapted)recipe to people at work because they all wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This gingerbread came out perfect texture and flavor! Thank sooo much for sharing this! it was my first time making a gingerbread and I will certainly do it again! I doubled the spices, used 3/4cup of UNSULPHERED molasses and added 1/2cup of applesauce as suggested by others. I also substituted the 1/2cup of white sugar for 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup and WOW was it incredible! I chose to do this because maple syrup is a better alternative to refined table sugar (easier for the body to break down). Thanks again!!!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States