Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by marieke
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I doubled the spices and added 1/4 cup of applesauce like people suggested. I used light molasses(schenkstroop in Holland). I topped it with a lemon glaze...hmmm It's a perfect winter cake! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
1. As other reviewers have mentioned, double the spices. At a minimum, double the cinnamon. 2. Butter substitutes: shortening works well. Too much richness is lost when applesauce is used as a sub (although I know applesauce is healthier). 3. Eggs: I have been happy using one large or extra large egg, instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I want to make this in advance for Christmas nd would like to know how well it freezes. Also is it best to bake it then freeze or should I freeze the cake before and then defrost and bake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bournemouth, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very easy to make. Mine came out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is excellent, moist and spicy. I followed the comments of many reviewers and doubled the cinnamon, ginger, and cloves. I used a tube pan and it was done in 40 minutes. In addition to whipped cream and ice cream, it also goes well with lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This gingerbread is amazing! I made it for my boyfriend who had never been a fan of gingerbread before, but he completely changed his mind after he tried this recipe. Now he's constantly begging me to make it again. It will even be made for Thanksgiving with his mom. It's best served warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This came out very flat and dense, with a rubbery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Godinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made the recipe as written. I didn't change anything and I thought this bread was delicious. My husband and kids loved it also. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My wife is a big time gingerbread fan. I found this recipe and it was great. My wife is happy and I'm happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I have now tried this recipe two times and all i can say is it comes out dry, burnt on the edges before its even close to cooked on the inside, and flavorless. With all the reviews saying they needed to add or change the spice levels I am amazed so many gave it 5 stars. DO NOT MAKE THIS GINGERBREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARicker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States