Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made fantastic mini muffins using this recipe and some of the reviews. I did not double molasses as even with 1 cup the molasses flavor is quite strong. I did double the spices and I replaced the cup of hot water with a cup of applesauce. I cooked the muffins at 350 for 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have this same recipe that I have made for years but I bake mine in a 9x13 and pour a delicious Lemon Sauce over. This is a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made this today for a group dessert. Substituted brown sugar & used about 1 &1/4 cups - I had no molasses in the house. Added vanilla & used milk mixed w organic yogurt for the liquid. Smelled & tasted WUNDERBAR !! Adults & kids both ate it up :) Great winter-time treat. Yes, we have winter in Texas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I baked this for 53 minutes, and it was overdone. Thankfully, it was still decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This gingerbread was just like my grandmother used to make - full of flavor and moist and sticky. Fantastic. I followed the ingredients, but didn't have a 9" square pan so used an 8" which worked great. Lined the bottom of pan with silicone paper which was a good idea I feel. Only baked for 50 minutes as per other reviews and this was spot on. The house smelt wonderful after it came out of the oven. Definitely keeping this recipe and will make time and time again. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really delicious and moist. My only critic is that it needs more spice. I used unprocessed Marri honey instead of molasses and it was to die for. Added 3 heaped tsp of fresh grated ginger, 3tsp mixed spice and 2 tsp of garam marsala (may seem like an odd addition but I didn't have ground cloves and I love it's spiciness.). That might seem like a lot of spice but I love the sweet, spicy and gingery flavour. Baked it in a 9inch square tin and it was done after 45mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and found it to be great as is. I did make Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting to top the gingerbread, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I think there may be an error with the cooking time; one hour seems way too long. Mine came out terribly dry and burnt around the edges. I followed the recipe exactly but added extra cinnamon. I wanted to like it, but it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I read some other reviewers and took their recommendations; use UNSULPHERED molasses, I doubled and may triple the cinnamon, ginger and clove next time and used 1/2 cup applesauce. I had to bake about 70 minutes which is not unusual for my oven for some reason and it may have something to do with being at 7,500 feet although I am not certain. I did not have applesauce so I put a large apple and some water in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I think this gingerbread is far too strong with the molasses flavour. The molasses needs to be knocked back to allow the flavours of the spices to fully develop, as it is overpowering. I suggest replacing half the molasses with corn syrup, or simply using a different recipe. A good gingerbread is balanced in flavour, with each of the triad of spices and the molasses playing well together, and allowing for the spices to develop into a nice gingerbread flavour. This recipe does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States