Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Didn't care for the strong flavor of the molasses. It also had a slightly scorched taste on the crust even though it was just done in the center. Think maybe it has too much molasses for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is a very good, standard gingerbread with good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe, however, as others reviewed, I would definitely double all of the spices and triple the ginger. I also used two extra Tbs of sugar. It came out very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and put it in a gingerbread boy shaped pan for our Christmas party and it turned out great. Looked so cute decorated and tasted delicious. The whole house smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Next time I'll increase the spices and put in in a bigger pan for more surface area- my favorite part was the crust by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it! Moist with a crunchy top. Just the right balance of molasses and ginger. Used Grandmas brand unsulfured molasses. Topped it with homemade whip cream and sliced bananas. We baked some in cupcake liners as an experiment and liked how that turned out (about 25 minutes at 350*). This has become the favored birthday treat for one of our December birthdays. Met with the approval of the 5yo birthday boy and the rest of the family and guests too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is the best recipe. Like others i increased the spices and i am fortunate to live where i gave access to natural, homemade molasses. I serve it with a lemon sauce and its oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I have been making a recipe extremely close to this for years & it is ALWAYS a hit, even to people who say they don't like gingerbread. I always use "Grandma's" brand of molasses, but recently tried Aldi's & couldn't tell a difference. You can also make this in muffin tins & freeze the muffins to enjoy at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I have no idea if this is good, sounds like it is. This is in response to Chez about freezing for later use. I freeze cakes all the time. Bake it, let it cool, and I remove it from the original pan, wrap securely, then freeze and let defrost when needed. You probably could freeze it in the pan, I've just never tried it. Definitely bake it before you freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marieke
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I doubled the spices and added 1/4 cup of applesauce like people suggested. I used light molasses(schenkstroop in Holland). I topped it with a lemon glaze...hmmm It's a perfect winter cake! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States