Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Charles, you've got a real winner with this recipe. I changed the butter to salad oil and doubled the spices like other reviewers mentioned and it was primo! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It was dry for me. Luckily I served it with homemade whipped cream and my guests thought it was wonderful. I can't tell if I overcooked it because the cake was done when I checked it after only 30 minutes of baking. I was shocked that my knife came out clean...good thing I checked it! Not sure why this recipe states it takes 1 hour to bake, but I guess I should check my oven now to make sure the temperature is correct because mine cooked in literally half the time and probably was done sooner...hence my dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
just had a piece, even with my changes this is awesome. the reason i'm giving it 3 stars is because i had to make changes to make this awesome. it's so good it made me curse lol i've been looking for a gingerbread recipe, buying it at starbucks adds up & theirs is full of who knows what so i like to make stuff instead. anyway when i read through this recipe i knew that there was no way in the world that it would be enough "spice/ginger" to make this taste like a gingerbread. my changes. i used oat flour, truvia instead of sugar, kept the butter & also added some applesauce. i also used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 2 teaspoons of ginger, a little bit more cloves, also added a dash or two of nutmeg i ran out of molasses so i only wound up using a half cup since that's all i had left, this is so good, nice & moist & since i added more spices, gingery. once i get to the store tomorrow to get more molasses i will be baking it again:) if i use the applesauce again i'll do half sauce & half butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VannieNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
very good with double the spices except the cloves and it doesn't need the applesauce unless you are replacing the butter with the applesauce. I have not tried that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this, was really hoping it would be great due to all the reviews, doubled the spices, added 1/2 c applesauce, was really moist which was great but molasses was strong, even on 2nd day, didnt taste much like gingerbread, will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrBojangles288
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good recipe, the cake came out very moist and had an excellent spiced taste. I would recommend doing a Glaze (1/2 cup powder sugar +2-3 tbsp hot water). It complements the spice flavor real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
The best gingerbread I ever made. I doubled the ginger though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this was the first time I ate gingerbread in the form of a loaf and the first time I made it. It seemed like a lot of molasses. I might cut the molasses in half next time. Anyone else find the molasses to be too much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Amazing! As suggested by other reviewers, I doubled the spices--and added a 1/4 cup of applesauce, since I was nervous about adding too much liquid. Made an orange/vanilla glaze, topped with pecans and it was absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
yum excellent. perfect sweetness--not overly sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States