Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made it exactly as per the recipe but it was ready in 35 min. Next time I'll double the spices, but definitely a crowd pleaser as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Awesome just the way it is! I make it at least once a year. Anyone who loves gingerbread will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. Thank you so much for posting it. Personally, I add raisins to my gingerbread. They add a lot to the recipe...and I just like raisins. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Super good with doubling the spices and adding half cup of apple sauce to make it more moist. My cake did split a little at the top, but don't worry. I also turned down the heat to 425 from other reviews and cut off a few minutes. I will be making this again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fine, but didn't really hit the spot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wonderful! I doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup applesauce. I'll definitely make this again! I made so many things for Christmas but this was one of my favorites. Next time I think I would try half molasses with half honey. I think that would be better for my taste. I used unsulphured molasses as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TotalJen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent gingerbread; although, like many others, I did not make this 'as is.' I needed it gluten free, so I used 1/2 -all purpose gluten-free flour and 1/2 Millet flour instead of regular flour, used 1/4c of applesauce in place of 1/2 the butter, as others did, and 1/4c brown sugar for 1/2 of the molasses (used un-sulfered molasses per other reviewer recommendations), doubled the cinnamon, cloves, and ginger (per other reviewer recommendations), and the rest as is. Baked it in regular loaf pan, for 1 hr 3 minutes so the middle passed the 'knife test', let cool and sprinkled with powdered confectioners sugar, and served still warm...SOOOO good and spicy! Perfect for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TotalJen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Not enough spice and very dry..will continue my search for the perfect gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Flavor was great, but it was a bit too dry. I followed other people's suggestion and doubled the spices which was a great choice. Next time I will add more water, butter, and cook less to make it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States