Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
As written this is just so so... pretty bland- definitely not a gingerbread cake- more of a molasses cake. Texture was fine- moist, dark and dense- but NOT enough ginger and spice to be a gingerbread cake. I made it a second time and doubled the spices- left all other ingredients and measurements as written and still the [unsulfured] molasses was the predominant flavor. Not a bad cake. Both times served with vanilla ice cream - it would not have been good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I doubled spices - only cuz I'm spicy. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I am in Denver at high altitude. Just took out my wonderful smelling gingerbread but it had sunk in the middle!! :-( What should I do next time....any suggestions? HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
It had a good texture, but the only flavour it had was of molasses. I didn't even use fancy or black strap, just regular molasses, and it was still overwhelming. Luckily, the men in the family loved it, but the women thought it was pretty gross except for the cream cheese frosting. Next time I will cut the molasses with maple syrup and double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynelaine22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
So easy, so delicious! What more can you ask for?! I followed the recipe verbatim and it turned out perfectly. I will make this again come Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made fantastic mini muffins using this recipe and some of the reviews. I did not double molasses as even with 1 cup the molasses flavor is quite strong. I did double the spices and I replaced the cup of hot water with a cup of applesauce. I cooked the muffins at 350 for 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have this same recipe that I have made for years but I bake mine in a 9x13 and pour a delicious Lemon Sauce over. This is a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made this today for a group dessert. Substituted brown sugar & used about 1 &1/4 cups - I had no molasses in the house. Added vanilla & used milk mixed w organic yogurt for the liquid. Smelled & tasted WUNDERBAR !! Adults & kids both ate it up :) Great winter-time treat. Yes, we have winter in Texas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I baked this for 53 minutes, and it was overdone. Thankfully, it was still decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This gingerbread was just like my grandmother used to make - full of flavor and moist and sticky. Fantastic. I followed the ingredients, but didn't have a 9" square pan so used an 8" which worked great. Lined the bottom of pan with silicone paper which was a good idea I feel. Only baked for 50 minutes as per other reviews and this was spot on. The house smelt wonderful after it came out of the oven. Definitely keeping this recipe and will make time and time again. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States