Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this in a 2-piece tube pan and baked for 45 minutes. It was perfect! I did use extra cinnamon and ginger as others suggested and it was by far the best gingerbread I've ever made or eaten. I will be making this several times during the holidays this year! This is definitely my new go-to gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
It definitely needed double the spices. Taste was fine and was moist but agree it's a 45-50 min bake time not an hour. I do think that the molasses overpowers next time will cut it in half with honey. I used a very good quality unsulphured molasses too. But very strong !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Moist, flavourful and highly requested!!! I made this for Thanksgiving dessert and it was a huge hit. I didn't have an egg, so I used 1/4 c of pumpkin purée instead, doubled the spices and it was only 50 min in my oven. So moist and delicious - definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is and it was wonderful. The cake was nice and moist and the spicing was just right. It was done in 45 minutes. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Pinto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe for gingerbread is wonderful and very easy to make. I give it five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherill Spaur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I read the reviews before trying it and I used some of the suggestions. Thank you all. I doubled all the spices and instead of all molasses, I used half robust molasses and half light brown sugar. I also added one half cup homemade, unsweetened applesauce. This reminds me of when I was a little girl and my mom used to make this. So, so good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Is good but not great.. the recipe from an embarrassment of mangoes is far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This cake was a bit dry and blander than I was going for as is. Made it again with a few changes... Use brown sugar, not white. Use hot coffee instead of hot water. Double the spices (but maybe not the cloves, depending on your preferences!). Add 1/2 c. of Greek yogurt or apple sauce for moisture. Bake 50-55 mins instead of 60, just until toothpick comes out clean. The cake was good as written, but exceptional with the above changes! Served with a homemade caramel sauce (butter, cream, sugar, vanilla, salt - easy to find a simple recipe) and perhaps a bit of vanilla bean ice cream or whipped cream, takes the cake from incredibly delicious to over-the-top good! I'll be making this again and again once the cooler weather hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love gingerbread. Double the spices and this is the best. I make small loaves to give as Christmas gifts and get lots of compliments. A couple of slices with butter and a cup of coffee is heaven. Also freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
a good recipe, needed something.. maybe nutmeg? overall pleased, it was very moist and tasted better when I put a homemade lemon sauce on it.. anybody want lemon sauce recipe, send me a message
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States