Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this. I topped it with freshly whipped sweetened cream. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The amount of molasses in this is overpowering. As written here, the gingerbread has a flavor of molasses and nothing else. Further, an hour is far too long as baking time for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Hagadorn
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
mmmmMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
the whole family LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious! The spices are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Needed more sugar but otherwise ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't have to add anything extra, this recipe was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh wow! It tastes just like gingerbread cookies...in cake form. Yum! I did double the cinnamon and ginger though, and baked it in an 8x8 pan. Baked for 1hr exact. I served it warm (and cooled) with warmed homemade caramel sauce and whipped cream. It would be tasty served with vanilla ice cream as well, or perhaps a smidge of cream? My boyfriend loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe *almost* exactly. By the time I was at 48 minutes in the oven, I was starting to wonder what in the world would take an hour at 350, so I checked it and it was absolutely DONE. Any longer, and we'd have been in burnt territory. Not sure how it turns out for others with that extra time in the oven. The flavor was great, but I'll be following everyone else's lead by doubling the spice. Super simple. The guests were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is delicious. The 9" pan was too small.....I would use a 9x13". The cake mushroomed over the pan....other than that wonderful balanced gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna McCullough

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States