Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I added alil more spice and my cake was not dry at all.....I also dbl'd the recipe. Greg P..ski , the applesauce is a good suggestion i'll try that next time. This cake is "not" a fussy recipe in my opinion. I give it 5 stars :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this. I topped it with freshly whipped sweetened cream. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The amount of molasses in this is overpowering. As written here, the gingerbread has a flavor of molasses and nothing else. Further, an hour is far too long as baking time for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Hagadorn
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
mmmmMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
the whole family LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious! The spices are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Needed more sugar but otherwise ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't have to add anything extra, this recipe was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh wow! It tastes just like gingerbread cookies...in cake form. Yum! I did double the cinnamon and ginger though, and baked it in an 8x8 pan. Baked for 1hr exact. I served it warm (and cooled) with warmed homemade caramel sauce and whipped cream. It would be tasty served with vanilla ice cream as well, or perhaps a smidge of cream? My boyfriend loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe *almost* exactly. By the time I was at 48 minutes in the oven, I was starting to wonder what in the world would take an hour at 350, so I checked it and it was absolutely DONE. Any longer, and we'd have been in burnt territory. Not sure how it turns out for others with that extra time in the oven. The flavor was great, but I'll be following everyone else's lead by doubling the spice. Super simple. The guests were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States