Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was amazing! I made it today and took the advice of some other members and doubled the spices. I ended up not having enough molasses by about 1/4 cup but it turned out fine and I thought there was enough molasses taste. I made these in cupcake form to bring to school and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this cake today for my 18 year ole, He just loved it. I did not change a thing. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I altered things to make it healthier - all brown sugar for more flavor, 1 c whole wheat flour substituted for 1 c of the white, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of any butter. And I guesstimated the spices. I come from a high-cholesterol family, so I like to up the nutrition of any recipe! I will make it again, probably tonight if it disappears this fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe had so much molasses flavor that everything else was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
First off thank you for going to the trouble and posting a recipe After preparing the gingerbread I found to be on the dry side I have a voice recipe that I could not lay my hands on this morning I will post it in my box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domenicpetti@gmail.com
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I did it exactly as written and found that there wasn't enough ginger for my tastes. Next time I will double it. Also found that baking for an hour was too long. Otherwise came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I give this recipe four stars because of the adjustments to the original recipe. I read the reviews before proceeding and agree with the increase in spice quantities although I would not increase the cloves. I also cut the butter in half substituting a1/2 cup of applesauce to cut the fat content and keep it moist. I also found 45 minutes ample time to bake. Interestingly, I live at 7600 ft altitude and made no adjustments to the recipe and it turned out perfectly. Delicious! One more thing, why only make this at Christmas? It's perfect Fall through Winter as a desert or as an alternative side with soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is fantastic. A great variation: substitute honey for molasses for a golden coloured cake that is still insanely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cooking time is way off. Luckily someone said to check it at 40 minutes... I suggest checking it at 30-35 because my oven always takes longer than most ovens and it was perfect at 40 minutes, so your oven will probably cook it faster. I STILL rate this as 5 stars because it was exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly except cooking time. Most people will probably want more spice but this was perfect for me. Handy note to those who realize they only have frozen butter: Cut the butter into small pieces and it is ready in 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Wonderful Gingerbread!! Reminds me of my childhood. Moist with Robust flavor. PERFECT as written. I baked in a Snowflake pan & dusted with Powdered sugar for Christmas centerpiece. Served with Mom's lemon sauce & Whipped Cream on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States