Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This gingerbread is amazing! I made it for my boyfriend who had never been a fan of gingerbread before, but he completely changed his mind after he tried this recipe. Now he's constantly begging me to make it again. It will even be made for Thanksgiving with his mom. It's best served warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This came out very flat and dense, with a rubbery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Godinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made the recipe as written. I didn't change anything and I thought this bread was delicious. My husband and kids loved it also. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My wife is a big time gingerbread fan. I found this recipe and it was great. My wife is happy and I'm happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I have now tried this recipe two times and all i can say is it comes out dry, burnt on the edges before its even close to cooked on the inside, and flavorless. With all the reviews saying they needed to add or change the spice levels I am amazed so many gave it 5 stars. DO NOT MAKE THIS GINGERBREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARicker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Quintessential (and by that I mean perfect!) gingerbread. As is my wont when making most anything "spicy," I doubled the callled-for spices, added a dash (about an eighth of a teaspoon) of white pepper, and a splash (couple of tablespoons ... all I had left over from breakfast) of black coffee (as a part of the called-for hot water). So good and warming on a chilly November morning! Thanks, Charles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this in a 2-piece tube pan and baked for 45 minutes. It was perfect! I did use extra cinnamon and ginger as others suggested and it was by far the best gingerbread I've ever made or eaten. I will be making this several times during the holidays this year! This is definitely my new go-to gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
It definitely needed double the spices. Taste was fine and was moist but agree it's a 45-50 min bake time not an hour. I do think that the molasses overpowers next time will cut it in half with honey. I used a very good quality unsulphured molasses too. But very strong !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Moist, flavourful and highly requested!!! I made this for Thanksgiving dessert and it was a huge hit. I didn't have an egg, so I used 1/4 c of pumpkin purée instead, doubled the spices and it was only 50 min in my oven. So moist and delicious - definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is and it was wonderful. The cake was nice and moist and the spicing was just right. It was done in 45 minutes. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Pinto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States