Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I was so looking forwards to this cake, however its the driest cake I have ever had. I made it exactly as directed and am not a novice cook, not ready for my own food network show, but I know my way around the kitchen. This was a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Perfect! I loved this recipe! Exactly like my mom used to make when I was a child. I followed the advice of some and doubled the cinnamon and ginger, but I really didn't need to, it would've been fine and next time I won't. Not dry at all, I think people might be used to really moist (almost damp) cakes these days. One other thing that might affect dryness is that an hour is a long time to cook depending on you oven, check at 45 minutes, and every 5 mins thereafter. I cooked this in my brand new Nordicware Yule Log pan, and it fit perfectly and was absolutely beautiful! Sprinkled it with a little powdered sugar to look like a dusting of snow, and served with whip cream (or cool whip) and our gingerbread Yule Log is a new tree decorating and Christmas Eve tradition for us! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe stated. I found the molasses to be a bit strong, but others liked it very much. Next time I will double the spices. I had no trouble with it being moist however, mine was done in 45 minutes instead of an hour. So I would suggest to check it after 40 minutes. Maybe that is why some bakers were having trouble with it being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Didn't care for the strong flavor of the molasses. It also had a slightly scorched taste on the crust even though it was just done in the center. Think maybe it has too much molasses for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is a very good, standard gingerbread with good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe, however, as others reviewed, I would definitely double all of the spices and triple the ginger. I also used two extra Tbs of sugar. It came out very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and put it in a gingerbread boy shaped pan for our Christmas party and it turned out great. Looked so cute decorated and tasted delicious. The whole house smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Next time I'll increase the spices and put in in a bigger pan for more surface area- my favorite part was the crust by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it! Moist with a crunchy top. Just the right balance of molasses and ginger. Used Grandmas brand unsulfured molasses. Topped it with homemade whip cream and sliced bananas. We baked some in cupcake liners as an experiment and liked how that turned out (about 25 minutes at 350*). This has become the favored birthday treat for one of our December birthdays. Met with the approval of the 5yo birthday boy and the rest of the family and guests too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Wiegrefe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is the best recipe. Like others i increased the spices and i am fortunate to live where i gave access to natural, homemade molasses. I serve it with a lemon sauce and its oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States