Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Needed more sugar but otherwise ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't have to add anything extra, this recipe was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh wow! It tastes just like gingerbread cookies...in cake form. Yum! I did double the cinnamon and ginger though, and baked it in an 8x8 pan. Baked for 1hr exact. I served it warm (and cooled) with warmed homemade caramel sauce and whipped cream. It would be tasty served with vanilla ice cream as well, or perhaps a smidge of cream? My boyfriend loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe *almost* exactly. By the time I was at 48 minutes in the oven, I was starting to wonder what in the world would take an hour at 350, so I checked it and it was absolutely DONE. Any longer, and we'd have been in burnt territory. Not sure how it turns out for others with that extra time in the oven. The flavor was great, but I'll be following everyone else's lead by doubling the spice. Super simple. The guests were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is delicious. The 9" pan was too small.....I would use a 9x13". The cake mushroomed over the pan....other than that wonderful balanced gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was excellent gingerbread!!! I used this recipe for my first attempt at making gingerbread over the holidays and it worked out flawlessly. Didn't change anything when making it. I will come back to this again and again. Love to serve it with a rum-sauce and a dollop of whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this for dessert on Christmas day. Made 1.5 times the recipe to fill a 9x13 pan, but I increased the spices to 2x (instead of 1.5) based on other reviews. It was delicious. I served it with a caramel sauce drizzled over it, and a tiny bit of whipped cream to top it off. Would have given it five stars if I didn't have to increase spices from original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was very delicious. I doubled the spices, used half applesauce and half oil (in place of butter). Becomes incredibly moist especially if frozen and then defrosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added allspice and anise plus golden raisins and chopped candied ginger to the recipe. Also at high altitude, 45 minutes was more than enough time in the oven. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious! :D Like others, I added more spices to my taste. It came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States