Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Truth be told I have a really hard time following recipes and with baking I know it is essential. Using a few tips from other reviews, a moist and perfectly flavored cake emerged out of the oven. Using an additional 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2tsp each of cinnamon and pumpkin spice was the perfect balance. Now for another confession....the topping was another story. I began with a cup(ish) of heavy whipping cream, added 3 oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. The finished product was a velvety, creamy, lightly sweetened topping. Woohoo! I will now have beautiful and yummy dreams of one fabulous cake. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this a few weeks ago, following the recipe exactly as is. It was delicious! Just like my grandmother use to make. I served it with a warm caramel sauce. We all decided it would be the perfect dessert for Christmas dinner! This has definitely become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Doubled spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
As written this is just so so... pretty bland- definitely not a gingerbread cake- more of a molasses cake. Texture was fine- moist, dark and dense- but NOT enough ginger and spice to be a gingerbread cake. I made it a second time and doubled the spices- left all other ingredients and measurements as written and still the [unsulfured] molasses was the predominant flavor. Not a bad cake. Both times served with vanilla ice cream - it would not have been good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I doubled spices - only cuz I'm spicy. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I am in Denver at high altitude. Just took out my wonderful smelling gingerbread but it had sunk in the middle!! :-( What should I do next time....any suggestions? HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
It had a good texture, but the only flavour it had was of molasses. I didn't even use fancy or black strap, just regular molasses, and it was still overwhelming. Luckily, the men in the family loved it, but the women thought it was pretty gross except for the cream cheese frosting. Next time I will cut the molasses with maple syrup and double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynelaine22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
So easy, so delicious! What more can you ask for?! I followed the recipe verbatim and it turned out perfectly. I will make this again come Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made fantastic mini muffins using this recipe and some of the reviews. I did not double molasses as even with 1 cup the molasses flavor is quite strong. I did double the spices and I replaced the cup of hot water with a cup of applesauce. I cooked the muffins at 350 for 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have this same recipe that I have made for years but I bake mine in a 9x13 and pour a delicious Lemon Sauce over. This is a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States