Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love gingerbread. Double the spices and this is the best. I make small loaves to give as Christmas gifts and get lots of compliments. A couple of slices with butter and a cup of coffee is heaven. Also freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
a good recipe, needed something.. maybe nutmeg? overall pleased, it was very moist and tasted better when I put a homemade lemon sauce on it.. anybody want lemon sauce recipe, send me a message
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Paula up there obviously didn't make it according to the recipe or had substituted something. This recipe is excellent, it's very old as I had found this recipe almost exactly in a 5 roses cookbook that was from the 50's. I must admit however that it should say fancy molasses.... not blackstrap. Mind you black strap has been used in a pumpkin pie and it tasted excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Worst ginger cake recipe that I have tried, and I have been baking for around 50 years. No real taste , except for the cloves. It needs more ginger, no cloves or cinnamon and then perhaps it might be edible. Sorry but I will keep to my old recipe in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was amazing! I made it today and took the advice of some other members and doubled the spices. I ended up not having enough molasses by about 1/4 cup but it turned out fine and I thought there was enough molasses taste. I made these in cupcake form to bring to school and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this cake today for my 18 year ole, He just loved it. I did not change a thing. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I altered things to make it healthier - all brown sugar for more flavor, 1 c whole wheat flour substituted for 1 c of the white, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of any butter. And I guesstimated the spices. I come from a high-cholesterol family, so I like to up the nutrition of any recipe! I will make it again, probably tonight if it disappears this fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe had so much molasses flavor that everything else was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
First off thank you for going to the trouble and posting a recipe After preparing the gingerbread I found to be on the dry side I have a voice recipe that I could not lay my hands on this morning I will post it in my box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domenicpetti@gmail.com
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I did it exactly as written and found that there wasn't enough ginger for my tastes. Next time I will double it. Also found that baking for an hour was too long. Otherwise came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States