Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This recipe reminded me of my school days. This is definitely a winner. Everyone who tasted it loved it. I didn't change a thing and it came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Battle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Great recipe. I've made it as written and I have also added to the recipe. It is better if you double the cinnamon and ginger. I have also made it using 1/2c molasses and 1/2c sorghum. The sorghum gives it a rich sweet "what is that" taste. Also try adding 1/4c of raisins to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
The best ginger cake i've ever made!!!!!!So moist and yummy I halve the white sugar, replaced molasses with brown sugar and golden syrup. Triple the cinnamon and ginger and cut the ground cloves. Works out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
The recipe is a good place to start. Followed some of the suggestions by reviewers: doubled all spices, added a half cup of applesauce, used half brown and half white sugar, used coffee for water, and put in a teaspoon of nutmeg. I do agree that an hour is too long to bake. Mine took about 45 minutes, but it helps to check very often after 35 or 40 minutes in a square Pyrex pan, with a knife during the last ten minutes, as it can get "done" all of a sudden. Glazed with a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze and served with whipped cream. It was simply the best gingerbread I have ever tasted--dense, moist, spicy, and received rave reviews from all family members--and we generally like fairly intense flavors. Some folks don't. Personally, I don't think that recipes like this need to be made into a "new" recipe when alterations are made. It's a very nice basic recipe, and changes can lead cooks in many directions and encourage experimentation. This ended up a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
5 stars with modifications mentioned by multiple reviewers. Increase cinnamon to 2 tsp, increase ginger to 1.5 tsp, add 1/2 cup of applesauce. Cooks faster than 1 hour (done in 45 minutes). Very important note: 1 star if you use blackstrap molasses (not sweet at all). You need to use unsulfered molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I just finished my second piece of this gingerbread! It is too good to have just one...easy to make, and easier to enjoy. I'd give it 10 stars plus a gold medal. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I used this recipe adding extra spices, and diced a small Apple. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Yesterday I made this exactly as Charles said. It was excellent. Today the few leftovers were even better. No need to double or triple the spices or change a thing. I give it five stars as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent Took advice about extra spice and less baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I accidentally omitted the water the first time I made this and the results were really awesome! It was like a dense gingerbread chewy brownie! Please try it with a little less water and with double spices, it's really great BUT it might burn out your electric mixer because it's super dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves_sweets

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States