Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Way too much molasses. Looked like chocolate cake but tasted like pure molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe uses too much molasses. It baked nicely and it was moist. But the taste was terrible. It was bitter and tasted like you were drinking molasses out of the bottle. I threw it out after tasting; which was a shame because it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jmb22
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Making these now and the batter smells super good and taste great! Lol I shouldnt be eating it. I did double each spice as others has said . I am experimenting with making mini muffins, normal size muffins, mini loafs and mini donuts just to see the time difference and which is a better display for a Christmas party I'm going to . Will update with taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
4 stars as it is; 5 stars if you serve it with lemon curd. Or lemon curd and whipped cream together. First time making gingerbread and it was a bit hit at a group pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Amazing. I made it with Francine76's suggestions (double the spices, add 1/2 c. applesauce), with Pamela's Gluten Free Baking mix, and it turned out absolutely perfect - and made the house smell like Christmas in the bargain. Warmed, with vanilla ice cream - decadence itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Lost a star for number of adjustments needed. However, if you make the suggested adjustments it is a massive hit. I tried this recipe (doubled it) to make 6 mini loafs with cream cheese frosting. I adjusted the sugar, Doubling it, and added ginger and Pumpkin pie spice until it tasted right. I think the hot water makes this. Our tap water is extremely hot, I would suggest boiling water if your tap water doesn't get too hot. It makes a textural difference. I baked, at 320 and it had an awesome texture, I like this cook better than 350. I will make this again with adjustments. I would like a less molassesy taste so I'll use unsulphered next time. I used cooking molasses, might try to find light molasses next year. Huge hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply-Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I was so looking forwards to this cake, however its the driest cake I have ever had. I made it exactly as directed and am not a novice cook, not ready for my own food network show, but I know my way around the kitchen. This was a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Perfect! I loved this recipe! Exactly like my mom used to make when I was a child. I followed the advice of some and doubled the cinnamon and ginger, but I really didn't need to, it would've been fine and next time I won't. Not dry at all, I think people might be used to really moist (almost damp) cakes these days. One other thing that might affect dryness is that an hour is a long time to cook depending on you oven, check at 45 minutes, and every 5 mins thereafter. I cooked this in my brand new Nordicware Yule Log pan, and it fit perfectly and was absolutely beautiful! Sprinkled it with a little powdered sugar to look like a dusting of snow, and served with whip cream (or cool whip) and our gingerbread Yule Log is a new tree decorating and Christmas Eve tradition for us! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe stated. I found the molasses to be a bit strong, but others liked it very much. Next time I will double the spices. I had no trouble with it being moist however, mine was done in 45 minutes instead of an hour. So I would suggest to check it after 40 minutes. Maybe that is why some bakers were having trouble with it being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Didn't care for the strong flavor of the molasses. It also had a slightly scorched taste on the crust even though it was just done in the center. Think maybe it has too much molasses for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States