Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
The recipe is a good place to start. Followed some of the suggestions by reviewers: doubled all spices, added a half cup of applesauce, used half brown and half white sugar, used coffee for water, and put in a teaspoon of nutmeg. I do agree that an hour is too long to bake. Mine took about 45 minutes, but it helps to check very often after 35 or 40 minutes in a square Pyrex pan, with a knife during the last ten minutes, as it can get "done" all of a sudden. Glazed with a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze and served with whipped cream. It was simply the best gingerbread I have ever tasted--dense, moist, spicy, and received rave reviews from all family members--and we generally like fairly intense flavors. Some folks don't. Personally, I don't think that recipes like this need to be made into a "new" recipe when alterations are made. It's a very nice basic recipe, and changes can lead cooks in many directions and encourage experimentation. This ended up a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
5 stars with modifications mentioned by multiple reviewers. Increase cinnamon to 2 tsp, increase ginger to 1.5 tsp, add 1/2 cup of applesauce. Cooks faster than 1 hour (done in 45 minutes). Very important note: 1 star if you use blackstrap molasses (not sweet at all). You need to use unsulfered molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I just finished my second piece of this gingerbread! It is too good to have just one...easy to make, and easier to enjoy. I'd give it 10 stars plus a gold medal. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I used this recipe adding extra spices, and diced a small Apple. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Yesterday I made this exactly as Charles said. It was excellent. Today the few leftovers were even better. No need to double or triple the spices or change a thing. I give it five stars as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent Took advice about extra spice and less baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I accidentally omitted the water the first time I made this and the results were really awesome! It was like a dense gingerbread chewy brownie! Please try it with a little less water and with double spices, it's really great BUT it might burn out your electric mixer because it's super dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves_sweets

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
very good -- I made home made whipped cream to go with it and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I wasn't impressed with the cake. Was too dry even with the addition of apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Disappointed, very dry. Needs applesauce or more liquid. Good flavor just dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States