Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This gingerbread, handsdown, is the best I've ever tasted. I doubled the spices, used a whole cup of robust molasses, and added 1/2 cup applesauce. It turned out moist and absolutely delish. I've made it twice already and even those who swear they hate gingerbread say that this is to die for. Here's a secret idea that I got from a restaurant...Toast a slice in a toaster over then drizzled with caramel sauce (homemade is the best) and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Amazing. I will be making this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
915 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
OMG this is probably the BEST cake recipe I've found on this website!! It tasted much better than I expected. I doubled all the spices, replaced half of the butter with applesauce, replaced the molassass with 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup honey. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This is really good. I recommend increasing the cinnamon and ginger to at least 2 teaspoons each. I personally like my gingerbread a bit more moist, so I will add a little bit more water next time (maybe an additional 2 tablespoons of water). I baked in a springform pan as well (9 1/2 ") and it was really pretty. You can sprinkle powdered sugar over the top for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars, but with a disclaimer... it depends on which kind of molasses is used, a triumphant 5 stars using Unsulphured, but a paltry 2 stars using Blackstrap. Here's why: Please remember there are three distinctly different choices when it comes to molasses, as it will impact your recipe's flavor quite a lot. 1) Unsulphured Molasses is the sweetest, with a mild molasses taste. 2) Sulphured Molasses is less sweet, more minerally, with a stronger molasses taste. 3) Blackstrap Molasses is not very sweet at all, has a hard, licorice-like flavor... so choose carefully, your satisfaction will depend on it. And yet how many of these recipes recommend any one kind... they just say molasses...lol, is it just me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
We loved this moist gingerbread. I put it in a loaf pan, which worked out great. A creamcheese with orange peel frosting tops this well. Especially when you're sharing it with the office! They raved about it! I added 2 tsp. of ginger, but kept everything else as Charles submitted it. It has a lot of flavor and the texture was light and moist. Great with a rich cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great basic. Tripled the ginger, cinnamon, and clove. 1/2 cup of apple sauce. Rest as is with whip cream. Next time, I might try the darkest molasses I can find. Unsalted butter please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg P..ski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arundel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Delicious gingerbread. Will make again. Especially good with ice cream. In my oven, the 1 hour cooking time was too much-it started to scorch at 50 mins. Will begin checking at 45 mins next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
great texture- moist and substantial. BUT lacked any oomph whatsoever. I increased ginger and cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp each, but definitely should've atleast doubled, as per some other reviewers' suggestions. May make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars I would. Fist time I ever made a ginerbread and now I gotta make it every year for Christmas, Everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDIKUNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Great recipe. I used a little more ginger and a little vegetable oil for more moistness. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States