Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This gingerbread was just like my grandmother used to make - full of flavor and moist and sticky. Fantastic. I followed the ingredients, but didn't have a 9" square pan so used an 8" which worked great. Lined the bottom of pan with silicone paper which was a good idea I feel. Only baked for 50 minutes as per other reviews and this was spot on. The house smelt wonderful after it came out of the oven. Definitely keeping this recipe and will make time and time again. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really delicious and moist. My only critic is that it needs more spice. I used unprocessed Marri honey instead of molasses and it was to die for. Added 3 heaped tsp of fresh grated ginger, 3tsp mixed spice and 2 tsp of garam marsala (may seem like an odd addition but I didn't have ground cloves and I love it's spiciness.). That might seem like a lot of spice but I love the sweet, spicy and gingery flavour. Baked it in a 9inch square tin and it was done after 45mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and found it to be great as is. I did make Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting to top the gingerbread, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I think there may be an error with the cooking time; one hour seems way too long. Mine came out terribly dry and burnt around the edges. I followed the recipe exactly but added extra cinnamon. I wanted to like it, but it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I read some other reviewers and took their recommendations; use UNSULPHERED molasses, I doubled and may triple the cinnamon, ginger and clove next time and used 1/2 cup applesauce. I had to bake about 70 minutes which is not unusual for my oven for some reason and it may have something to do with being at 7,500 feet although I am not certain. I did not have applesauce so I put a large apple and some water in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I think this gingerbread is far too strong with the molasses flavour. The molasses needs to be knocked back to allow the flavours of the spices to fully develop, as it is overpowering. I suggest replacing half the molasses with corn syrup, or simply using a different recipe. A good gingerbread is balanced in flavour, with each of the triad of spices and the molasses playing well together, and allowing for the spices to develop into a nice gingerbread flavour. This recipe does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookiemumster
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed the last two reviews' recommendations on doubling the spices, it worked as told. I plan on baking this cake at least once more this season and annually thereafter. Thank you to the owner of this recipe. Yay! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I was really disappointed with this recipe, and after reading the reviews realized that it was because I had used blackstrap molasses. The texture was amazing and it was lovely and moist but I think that it's important to specify in the recipe what kind of molasses should be used for the best result. Blackstrap is vile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was very good! I made it in muffin cups and it was perfectly done in 20 minutes. The husband (and the dogs) really enjoyed this with whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I followed other reviews and doubled the spices, turned out delicious! When it comes to the baking time, I find it's best to cover the cake half way through baking time with tin foil to prevent over-browning. I took the cake out of the oven when the toothpick inserted in the center had a few moist crumbs attached. The cake was fluffy and moist. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States