Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Sorry, but I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and loved it! BUT I did listen to those who did it before me and so I added 1/3 cup sour cream (to make it more moist), used 1/2 cup less four, and added more ginger and spices -cause I like to have a stronger flavor. Ended up giving the (adapted)recipe to people at work because they all wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This gingerbread came out perfect texture and flavor! Thank sooo much for sharing this! it was my first time making a gingerbread and I will certainly do it again! I doubled the spices, used 3/4cup of UNSULPHERED molasses and added 1/2cup of applesauce as suggested by others. I also substituted the 1/2cup of white sugar for 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup and WOW was it incredible! I chose to do this because maple syrup is a better alternative to refined table sugar (easier for the body to break down). Thanks again!!!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Just made this for my family and it came out very nicely. I did add a lil too much ground cloves, but its definitely a easy & tasty recipe next time though I'll remember to make sure I have some powder sugar on hand for garnishing. Love it it came out moist and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is fabulous. I would recommend a good cream cheese swirl topping after cutting into servings. Other then that, the cake was moist, spicy and delicious. My husband couldn't get enough and asked me to make more so we could take them up to his shop on the base for the guys that couldn't go home for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAVENCHEEKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Really good! -1 star because it did not fit a 9x9"! It looked too full as I filled the pan but I trusted the recipe and now I'm cleaning burnt batter off my oven element. I took suggestions and added 1/2c applesauce to the wet ingredients and doubled the spices. It really is a delicious, spongey, moist and flavorful cake. I'll be making it again... in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious. I made this as a dessert for Thanksgiving, and added homemade whipped cream on top. I added a little more cinnamon & ginger, but this is a great recipe to begin with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by KramerGirls
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I thought this recipe was great as is. I made it exactly as written except I bake it in cupcake pans. I baked them for about 15 minutes. They were mild, moist, and enjoyed by everyone who tried them. This recipe will enter my tried-and-true collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KramerGirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made the recipe as listed and holy molasses! Overwhelming molasses flavor. I made it again, used 1/2 cup molasses and 1/2 cup brown sugar and it was much sweeter and less intense. I also upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons and the ground ginger to 3 teaspoons. It was a much bigger hit in my home this time. My pregnant wife ate the whole loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and as another reviewer stated, I started checking at 45 minutes and mine was ready after about 50 minutes. It is very moist with great flavor. Now I know that gingerbread isn't about ginger, it is about molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States