Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I followed some of the suggestions here, added applesauce, doubled the ginger and (more than) doubled the cinnamon. I didn't have cloves but I subbed in nutmeg and made sure to use unsulfured molasses. The cake came out REALLY light and moist. The taste was ok, I tasted a slice as is and it seemed kind of bland, not sure if I missed something. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar which made it much better, it really needed the extra bit of sweetness. Also, I didn't have a 9x9 so I ended up using a 8x12 (or around that). It was done in 20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I had to double the ginger to get a good ginger flavor. Also, the baking time was WAY off for me. I use a thermometer in my oven so I know it's accurate, but it only took about 35 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This smells really good when baking, but I think the time is off, if you cook it for an hour you will have an extremely dry cake. I checked at 50 minutes and it was already over done. May try again, but will have to check a lot earlier on the time. I was surprised that everyone says it is moist, because it is not if baked as the recipe says. Gingerbread should be moist. This is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Casual Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I kept all the ingredients as is except I substituted the sugar for Ideal sweetener and it came out delicious! I made a vanilla frosting with Xylitol powdered sugar and spread it on the gingerbread once it was cool....very tasty. I do like whipped cream, but I prefer frosting on my gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
It was very good. Moist and rich. The link to the kitchen-friendly view goes to a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I read the reviews first and double the spice quantities. My bake time was 43 minutes....at 350*. So glad I did not cook the whole hour. The results were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made it exactly as per the recipe but it was ready in 35 min. Next time I'll double the spices, but definitely a crowd pleaser as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Awesome just the way it is! I make it at least once a year. Anyone who loves gingerbread will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. Thank you so much for posting it. Personally, I add raisins to my gingerbread. They add a lot to the recipe...and I just like raisins. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States