Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I was really disappointed with this recipe, and after reading the reviews realized that it was because I had used blackstrap molasses. The texture was amazing and it was lovely and moist but I think that it's important to specify in the recipe what kind of molasses should be used for the best result. Blackstrap is vile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was very good! I made it in muffin cups and it was perfectly done in 20 minutes. The husband (and the dogs) really enjoyed this with whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I followed other reviews and doubled the spices, turned out delicious! When it comes to the baking time, I find it's best to cover the cake half way through baking time with tin foil to prevent over-browning. I took the cake out of the oven when the toothpick inserted in the center had a few moist crumbs attached. The cake was fluffy and moist. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Love this recipe. Great warm with whipping cream on top. Always make mine in bunt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minimoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoyt Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a good basic recipe but seems to need a lot of revisions. I took the advice of the reviewers and doubled the spices, and used 1 3/4 water. I also used unsulphured molasses as another reviewer recommended. The gingerbread was very moist and had a nice dark color, but was on the bitter side, although my six year old did still like it. Next time we'll reduce the molasses to try and reduce the bitterness (we used the full 1 cup), and will probably try and add a sweet lemon glaze, or cream cheese as others recommended to balance out the taste or something else to balance out (this is not a sweet gingerbread recipe so good if you're looking for something less sweet but some sweetness will be complimentary). Might also consider tripling the cinnamon as one of the reviewers recommended. We did not try the applesauce. We found it was ready in slightly less than 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Why did mine not rise? Flat and gooey in the middle - hard as a rock on the edges. Nice flavor, but serious problem with consistency. Elevation? We are at 6400'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Just like my Grandma used to make-even using the water! I didn't change any ingredients and it came out moist and delicious. The one thing I did change was the baking time. I could smell the wonderful scent at 25 minutes - after testing it was done. Others may have found it dry because they baked it too long. Doesn't take an hour. Served warm with slightly sweetened fresh whipped cream. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schodack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I followed some of the suggestions here, added applesauce, doubled the ginger and (more than) doubled the cinnamon. I didn't have cloves but I subbed in nutmeg and made sure to use unsulfured molasses. The cake came out REALLY light and moist. The taste was ok, I tasted a slice as is and it seemed kind of bland, not sure if I missed something. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar which made it much better, it really needed the extra bit of sweetness. Also, I didn't have a 9x9 so I ended up using a 8x12 (or around that). It was done in 20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I had to double the ginger to get a good ginger flavor. Also, the baking time was WAY off for me. I use a thermometer in my oven so I know it's accurate, but it only took about 35 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This smells really good when baking, but I think the time is off, if you cook it for an hour you will have an extremely dry cake. I checked at 50 minutes and it was already over done. May try again, but will have to check a lot earlier on the time. I was surprised that everyone says it is moist, because it is not if baked as the recipe says. Gingerbread should be moist. This is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States