Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
It had a good texture, but the only flavour it had was of molasses. I didn't even use fancy or black strap, just regular molasses, and it was still overwhelming. Luckily, the men in the family loved it, but the women thought it was pretty gross except for the cream cheese frosting. Next time I will cut the molasses with maple syrup and double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynelaine22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
So easy, so delicious! What more can you ask for?! I followed the recipe verbatim and it turned out perfectly. I will make this again come Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made fantastic mini muffins using this recipe and some of the reviews. I did not double molasses as even with 1 cup the molasses flavor is quite strong. I did double the spices and I replaced the cup of hot water with a cup of applesauce. I cooked the muffins at 350 for 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have this same recipe that I have made for years but I bake mine in a 9x13 and pour a delicious Lemon Sauce over. This is a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made this today for a group dessert. Substituted brown sugar & used about 1 &1/4 cups - I had no molasses in the house. Added vanilla & used milk mixed w organic yogurt for the liquid. Smelled & tasted WUNDERBAR !! Adults & kids both ate it up :) Great winter-time treat. Yes, we have winter in Texas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I baked this for 53 minutes, and it was overdone. Thankfully, it was still decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This gingerbread was just like my grandmother used to make - full of flavor and moist and sticky. Fantastic. I followed the ingredients, but didn't have a 9" square pan so used an 8" which worked great. Lined the bottom of pan with silicone paper which was a good idea I feel. Only baked for 50 minutes as per other reviews and this was spot on. The house smelt wonderful after it came out of the oven. Definitely keeping this recipe and will make time and time again. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really delicious and moist. My only critic is that it needs more spice. I used unprocessed Marri honey instead of molasses and it was to die for. Added 3 heaped tsp of fresh grated ginger, 3tsp mixed spice and 2 tsp of garam marsala (may seem like an odd addition but I didn't have ground cloves and I love it's spiciness.). That might seem like a lot of spice but I love the sweet, spicy and gingery flavour. Baked it in a 9inch square tin and it was done after 45mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and found it to be great as is. I did make Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting to top the gingerbread, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I think there may be an error with the cooking time; one hour seems way too long. Mine came out terribly dry and burnt around the edges. I followed the recipe exactly but added extra cinnamon. I wanted to like it, but it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States