Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was very delicious. I doubled the spices, used half applesauce and half oil (in place of butter). Becomes incredibly moist especially if frozen and then defrosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added allspice and anise plus golden raisins and chopped candied ginger to the recipe. Also at high altitude, 45 minutes was more than enough time in the oven. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious! :D Like others, I added more spices to my taste. It came out so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family really enjoyed this cake. We did double the molasses, but left everything else the same. It was moist, tender and full of flavor without being over powering. I wanted for something. . I'm not sure what. Maybe a pinch of nutmeg next time? Otherwise, five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Truth be told I have a really hard time following recipes and with baking I know it is essential. Using a few tips from other reviews, a moist and perfectly flavored cake emerged out of the oven. Using an additional 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2tsp each of cinnamon and pumpkin spice was the perfect balance. Now for another confession....the topping was another story. I began with a cup(ish) of heavy whipping cream, added 3 oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. The finished product was a velvety, creamy, lightly sweetened topping. Woohoo! I will now have beautiful and yummy dreams of one fabulous cake. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this a few weeks ago, following the recipe exactly as is. It was delicious! Just like my grandmother use to make. I served it with a warm caramel sauce. We all decided it would be the perfect dessert for Christmas dinner! This has definitely become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Doubled spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
As written this is just so so... pretty bland- definitely not a gingerbread cake- more of a molasses cake. Texture was fine- moist, dark and dense- but NOT enough ginger and spice to be a gingerbread cake. I made it a second time and doubled the spices- left all other ingredients and measurements as written and still the [unsulfured] molasses was the predominant flavor. Not a bad cake. Both times served with vanilla ice cream - it would not have been good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I doubled spices - only cuz I'm spicy. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I am in Denver at high altitude. Just took out my wonderful smelling gingerbread but it had sunk in the middle!! :-( What should I do next time....any suggestions? HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States