Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Paula up there obviously didn't make it according to the recipe or had substituted something. This recipe is excellent, it's very old as I had found this recipe almost exactly in a 5 roses cookbook that was from the 50's. I must admit however that it should say fancy molasses.... not blackstrap. Mind you black strap has been used in a pumpkin pie and it tasted excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Worst ginger cake recipe that I have tried, and I have been baking for around 50 years. No real taste , except for the cloves. It needs more ginger, no cloves or cinnamon and then perhaps it might be edible. Sorry but I will keep to my old recipe in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was amazing! I made it today and took the advice of some other members and doubled the spices. I ended up not having enough molasses by about 1/4 cup but it turned out fine and I thought there was enough molasses taste. I made these in cupcake form to bring to school and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this cake today for my 18 year ole, He just loved it. I did not change a thing. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I altered things to make it healthier - all brown sugar for more flavor, 1 c whole wheat flour substituted for 1 c of the white, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of any butter. And I guesstimated the spices. I come from a high-cholesterol family, so I like to up the nutrition of any recipe! I will make it again, probably tonight if it disappears this fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe had so much molasses flavor that everything else was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
First off thank you for going to the trouble and posting a recipe After preparing the gingerbread I found to be on the dry side I have a voice recipe that I could not lay my hands on this morning I will post it in my box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domenicpetti@gmail.com
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I did it exactly as written and found that there wasn't enough ginger for my tastes. Next time I will double it. Also found that baking for an hour was too long. Otherwise came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I give this recipe four stars because of the adjustments to the original recipe. I read the reviews before proceeding and agree with the increase in spice quantities although I would not increase the cloves. I also cut the butter in half substituting a1/2 cup of applesauce to cut the fat content and keep it moist. I also found 45 minutes ample time to bake. Interestingly, I live at 7600 ft altitude and made no adjustments to the recipe and it turned out perfectly. Delicious! One more thing, why only make this at Christmas? It's perfect Fall through Winter as a desert or as an alternative side with soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is fantastic. A great variation: substitute honey for molasses for a golden coloured cake that is still insanely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States