Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious! I have always loved gingerbread but never tried to make my own. I LOVE this recipe. It's exactly the right taste and texture --moist but still cakey. The only thing I did was increase the ginger a little since all the other reviews suggested it. This was wonderful warm from the oven, but I loved it even more the next day at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This really is easy to make and delicious!I didn't have enough molasses so I used dark corn syrup as well. I also added some grated ginger.I invited the neighbors over to sit out the storm and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Loved this! I did double the spices, and used half cup of unsulphured molasses and half cup applesauce. It was fantastic with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This gingerbread is amazing! It is really moist and rich. I doubled the spices like some of the other reviews suggested and i added 1/3 cup of apple sauce to keep it from drying out. I thought it was a bit too strong of a molasses flavor so I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to mellow it out. It was perfect! I made cinnamon whipped cream to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
loved this gingerbread, omitted cloves and it was still the perfect amount of spice, it's my go-to gingerbread recipe, thanks for sharing. mine baked in a bit less time so I just watched it no biggie, all ovens vary. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is one of those reliable and almost never fail recipes. Wonderful with lemon sauce or whipped cream. Adjust spices to taste. If someone tried this with blackstap molasses am not sure the results would be good.......nearly always if a recipe calls for molasses blackstrap is clearly stated. So....if it is not a success it would be better to make as the contributor printed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Very strong molasses flavor. I love molasses. Be prepared for that. I was thinking of a spice bread when I made this. Definitely a strong gingerbread flavor. Very good. Chock full of iron I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it is fantastic! This stays in my recipe box to be pulled out in the fall...so rich and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Goldendale, Washington, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I used egg replacer and half the sugar plus no salt and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is an excellent gingerbread recipe! Even my non-ginger loving husband liked it. I did double the spices (except for the salt) and I used unsulphured molasses. The second time I made it into cupcakes - and added raisins (kind of like a hermit cupcake). I serve with lemon sauce (see the Lemon Sauce I recipe - YUM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States