Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I found it bland and disappointing since I wanted to sink my teeth into moist but dense gingerbread. It lacked the intensity I was looking for. I did add chocolate at the end as a marble effect one poured into the tin. Maybe black treacle instead of molasses would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Easy to make but somewhat bland. I like flavorful, robust food and am not afraid of a little spice. In keeping with other reviewer's suggestions, I added extra cinnamon and ginger plus added nutmeg. The end result is quite good but not the rich, zesty gingerbread I was hoping for. Also, I had no problem with the bake time. I checked it after 45 minutes but it wasn't done all the way so I baked it for the recommended hour and it came out fine. I might make this again because of how easy it is to prepare but I will keep searching for a recipe that yields the strong gingerbread flavor that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This turned out amazing. The only changes that I made was I added an extra teaspoon of ginger and cinnamon. I also added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. I made it for church and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipes is a keeper! I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and doubled the spices and it was beautiful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was very good! I made some changes to make it lower in fat. I used 1/2 corn oil and 1/2 applesauce instead of butter. I didn't have any molasses so I used lite pancake syrup. I also used dark brown sugar instead of white. I doubled the spices as suggested by another member and I agree that it needed it. I also agree to bake it for 45 minutes instead of 1 hour. It was perfectly moist enough. It sliced up beautifully. I topped it with my own recipe for a spiced drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
used Splenda & heaped the spices-Jerry loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I have tried many recipes on this site and this is the 1st one I have felt compelled to review. Absolutely fantastic! have made this 3 times in 2 weeks, (husband keeps taking some into work for his mates) only suggestion is to double up on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Definately a first rate recipe. I followed some earlier suggestions and instead of butter used half oil and half applesause and for the spices, I doubled them all for an excellent gingerbread. My husband just loves it. We will keep this as a favorite family recipe. Irene from Port Gamble, WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This had a nice flavor but was very, very dry. I cooked for 50 min. I probably will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this as written so I could give it a fair review, it was a decent cake but I wholeheartdly agree that 1 hour was WAY too long mine was done in 45 minutes, and it needs more ginger and spice to get more of a gingerbread flavor. I made a simple glaze of butter and powdered sugar. Next time I may use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States