Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I took some advice and tweeked this recipe just abit and it was scrumdidlyumpious. I gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I LOVE gingerbread and couldn't wait to give this a try. I didn't have quite enough molasses for the recipe, but I think the full amount would be WAY too much - the molasses flavor was a bit strong. I really enjoyed the gingerbread though. It seems to be an acquired taste, as none of my family or friends wanted to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Charles, thank you for a delicious recipe. It was a hit at a wine & cheese party. W
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this recipe into cupcakes instead of one cake. As a special treat, when the cupcakes were cool, I inserted a small solid chocolate in each. I topped each off with whip cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Great gingerbread cake, got rave reviews from friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Great recipe!!! I doubled the spices per other reviews. I cut the amount of butter in half and added a half-cup of applesauce. It came out moist and tasty. I was done in 50 minutes. My friends really liked it. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very adaptable recipe! Instead of flour I used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free flour and 1 1/4 teaspoons of xanthan gum. I also doubled the spices using a coffee grinder to grind my whole cloves into powder. My friends were amazed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very, very good. Thumbs up from my husband and kids. So much better than a box mix, and very easy and quick to make. Excellent when warmed and topped with whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Followed recipe and it is not good - I have never made gingerbread before, so to be fair if you like gingerbread then maybe it is a good recipe for you. But for our family... it tasted like straight molasses, it had an after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennpivnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very nice! I love this recipe. I did alter it slightly; I doubled the cinnamon and ginger and added 1/2 cup apple sauce. It turned out with great flavor and was very moist. I will serve it with cinnamon whipped cream at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States