Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made exactly as recipe stated and baked for one hour. It is dry overall and crusty on the top. It is edible but would need some changes to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made this with double the cinnamon and ginger. cut the water by a 1/4 cup and replaced with oil. Baked in a bundt for 45 minutes. Cake came out moist and full of flavor. Was better the next day, still moist. Great warm with coffee. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and found the spice quantities perfect for us. I have learned that most spice cake recipes taste better the next day after the spices have had the time to meld and develop. If you don’t like molasses, this may not be the recipe for you however. The next time I make it I will reduce the baking time and start checking the cake starting at 45 minutes. The cake had a great texture but was a little dry which could be my oven, not the recipe. The added bonus of making this recipe - the house smells phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Pumpkin! I've made this several times and loved it, but my favorite batch was when I added just over 1/2 cup pumpkin to it. The pumpkin makes it so nice and moist as well as gives it a firm texture. I doubled the spices with the pumpkin and it is just right. I will definitely add pumpkin every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not sure if I did something wrong here but it was WAY too sweet and sickly tasting. If I was to make again I would definitely cut the molasses down by half. It was also very dry. Maybe it's just not the recipe for me, as I can see so many other people liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I doubled the cinnamon and ginger but followed the rest of the recipe. I baked in an 8x8 pan but it only took about 45 minutes. Very strong, spicy taste and not too sweet, so if that's your thing, you'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a wonderful gingerbread!! I did not add any more spices than the recipe called for. I liked it as is. On the second go around I substitued 1/4 cup of the water for 1/4 cup applesauce, and it came out a little moister. I made it as a bundt cake, using the same baking time and it turned out perfect both times. I topped it with a pear/cranberry sauce and whipped cream and it was the hit of my ladies' night gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
this was sooo good!!!! i doubled the spices and used blue agave syrup instead of sugar and baked it for 30 mins. My oven runs hot so it was well done on the edges but it was super moist and delicious my 4 and 2 yr old sons loved it so much they keep asking for it :) will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Perfect!! my husband loves gingerbread and had I know it was this easy I never would have bought a boxed mix. Needless to say I never will again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
SO SO good... I served with whipped cream once and applesuace the other time. Both were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States