Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Very good. It wasn't as moist as I had expected but that could have been my oven's fault. We added whipped cream on top which made it perfect. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I didn't change a thing and I loved it. It is exactly like the recipe I made as a young girl. Aunt Rosas' Gingerbread, the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Tasted wonderful, especially with custard. Reminds of the ginger cake we used to get a school. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billingham, Durham, England, U.K.
Living In: Stockton-On-Tees, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I doubled the spices and took it out of the oven 5 minutes early (usually they are more moist that way). I would try adding applesauce to give it more moisture. I see a lot of reviews that say the molasses taste is too strong. I tasted the cake right after baking and thought so too. But after I left it overnight, the flavor mellowed out and it's perfect! Using a bundt cake pan would probably make it even more attractive. Try it warmed up with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have made this 3 times already this season, rave reviews each time. I have made it in a bundt cake pan, and only bak efor about 45 min. I then top with a cream cheese frosting (when it's cooled) and sprinkle with chopped cran berries. It's a hit everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Moore Lutz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I didnt care for this recipe at all. It was bitter. Maybe too much molasses. The texture was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I changed the cinnamon and ginger to 2 tsp. and the cloves to 1 tsp. Flavor is excellent but next time I will add 1/2 c. applesauce to add a little moisture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
i liked this gingerbread. it was very simple to put together and bake. my guests enjoyed as well. i served it along side a pumpkin dip and it acted as a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I don't normally rate recipes, but felt compelled to grade this one.. 'cause, honestly, it was like trying to eat a molasses brick. Despite following the recipe exactly and cooking in a properly working oven, the crumb and crust were not tender and the cake, as a whole, was far too dense. The molasses overwhelmed the other flavors, although that could be 'cause I used Brer Rabbit full flavor style ( I do love molasses!). Will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I don't like to give a bad review unless it is really really bad. But this gets 1 star. We like gingerbread, but I don't know what happened with this recipe, it was so bad i threw the whole batch right into garbage while it was still warm! I followed recipe to a T but it tasted really awful. Very flat and left bad after taste. It was moist but the flavor wasn't like gingerbread. It may have been the cook but i won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States