Favorite Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This soup is really yummy. The only change I made was to add a bit of chopped jalapeno peppers for a wee bit of zing. TO SOLA, who rated on 7 Aug 05: YOU CHANGED ABOUT 99% OF THE INGREDIENTS AND THEN SAID IT WASN'T SOMETHING YOU WANT TO EAT OVER A FEW DAYS...AND YOU GAVE IT 4 STARS. ---> For crying out loud, if you change just about every ingredient in the entire recipe, DO THE DECENT THING AND DON'T RATE IT DOWN!! I couldn't believe you did that when I read the reviews. Geez!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Really good, really easy to make. I didn't need a pressure cooker either. I added cayenne instead of black pepper and cilantro instead of parsley, and I added the cilantro at the same time as the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
i had to add about 2 cups of veggie broth because, following the recipe exactly, it was way too thick, but it came out fantastic!!! definitely making this at least every other week until next spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This is now my favorite soup recipe. It's great for lunch on cold winter days. I don't use a pressure cooker just a regular soup pot, I also use a little extra cumin and garlic. After a day in the fridge I also find that I need to add more water as it tends to get quite thick. All in all, very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This was really good. I chopped up a few tomatoes and added them at the end. I also didn't use onion soup mix because I was too lazy to go to the store and get it. It was still great. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is some good lentil soup.. I would on ly suggest reducing black pepper to 1/4 tsp... I spicy food but the black pepper flavor in the soup was still a little strong. This recipe is a great use for a package of Onion soup mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I won't rate because I made quite a few changes. First of all, I sauteed the onions with paprika and a crushed garlic clove in olive oil. After 10 minutes, I added them to the lentils and covered with water in a normal saucepan. I checked often to add more water, and simmered 15 minutes on low/med heat. Then I added the onion mix with 1 1/2 cup of water, & simmered 10 mn. I served with toasted bread and cubed cheddar. I didn't put any lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was good, but the onion soup mix made it way too salty for me! My teens liked the fact that they didn't have to add salt to their serving! I added a chopped carrot, and garnished this with salad burnette. Next time, I'll have to make my own onion soup mix, and leave out the salt for my liking this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neicie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States