Favorite Hamburger Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
To reduce onion taste, use the package of onion dip (without adding the add'l minced onion). Fantastic! Taste just like the famous sliders sold at a fast food chain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
First off, I've been making them for years. Don't add the minced onion, just mix,2T. mayo is all you need,if you can find Pepperidge farm dinner rolls(12 mini rolls to a pkg) this recipe will fill three of these. Just slice the whole bunch in 1/2, keeping them intact, spread, wrap in foil, and heat. These are just like White Castle and are suppose to be VERY oniony, so if you don't like onions, pick another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
So, of course, I read the reviews before I made this. And I'm glad I did...MY DAUGHTER LOVED THIS!! I didn't add the onions...I used about 3/4 of the onion soup mix. I found the next best thing as far as rolls, Kroger Kaiser rolls(they're bigger than those minnie dinner rolls but it's a meal within itself). I served with Baked Lays...but french fries will do....will definitely make this again. Not too salty at all...And it was great on the one slice of(3 carb) Atkins bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Yum Yum Yummy! After reading previous reviews, I cut the mayo down to 2T and left out the minced onions. Had beefy onion soup and cheddar/jack cheese blend so that's what I used. Put them on mini buns that I had made and they turned out great. We'll be having these often. Thanks for the recipe Luann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Loved it! I also only use 2 T mayo and no minced onions, just the onion soup mix. Followed the rest of the recipe , used the little rolls, pickle and baked, then put a "squirt" of mustard on it...tasted just like a Krystal...I love those little things! Thanks for the recipe, now I can have them without the trip to Tennessee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
These were excellent. I also left out the minced onion, but next time might try using it. We love onions. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
These little "bites" are excellent. I made them when we had company for cards and trivia. They all loved them. I also left out the onion and added a tiny squirt of mustard as others recommended. Suggestion--don't over load the buns with alot of this mixture as a little less is better. Not so much like a meat sandwich then, more an appetizer. this recipe also made more than 12 mini bites for me. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Very easy and fast. I used 1/2 package of onion soup mix and my daughter still complained about the onions (I tried to hide the onions by crushing the package with my rolling pin to make the onions smaller) but she still found them LOL. Everyone else liked them and said they barely tasted the onions - go figure - you can't please everyone. I added just enough mayo to bind the meat (I used ground turkey) and also added a tbsp of yellow mustard and 2 tbsp of ketchup, next time I will double the mustard. The pickles really add to the flavour so don't skip them. This recipe is a keeper, especially good for camping, make ahead and finish over the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is a great recipe....I took it to our bunco group and it was a real big hit with all of them.....the only thing I would do is serve the pickles on the side as I noted some of them didn't care for the pickles. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Loved this recipe, my boys are always asking me to make the "sliders". Although the receipe says it's for 12, my two teenagers can eat the whole thing. I cut back on the onion soup mix, makes it too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States