Favorite Hamburger Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
First off, I've been making them for years. Don't add the minced onion, just mix,2T. mayo is all you need,if you can find Pepperidge farm dinner rolls(12 mini rolls to a pkg) this recipe will fill three of these. Just slice the whole bunch in 1/2, keeping them intact, spread, wrap in foil, and heat. These are just like White Castle and are suppose to be VERY oniony, so if you don't like onions, pick another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made a double recipe (wanted to have some for that evening and some for future use). Did cut down the mayo to 4T. After browning and adding the mayo/cheese, I spread the mixture out on cookie sheets covered with parchment paper to eliminate sticking and press mixture to a thin layer,scored in 2" squares (to resemble White Castle burgers),cover tightly with foil and put them in the freezer to set(the scoring helps them break apart when frozen). Once frozen,broke squares apart and placed on Peppridge Farm Slider Rolls (I found them at Publix). Placed pickles on burgers and covered pans tightly with foil. With the 2" squares, I had 36 burgers. I wrap any unbaked burgers individually in foil,put in a freezer bag and pop them in the freezer. When ready to use only 1 or 2, I take the burgers out of foil and wrap them in a paper towel and pop them in the microwave for about 20-25 seconds on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I couldn't get over the taste of the onion in this, it was too much. I think it would be great with less onions in it and more cheese, but this was still way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I listened to reviews and left our dried onions-mistake. I did put mix in food processor after browning to make it softer consistency. Didnt bake, just froze then reheated in microwave. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
To reduce onion taste, use the package of onion dip (without adding the add'l minced onion). Fantastic! Taste just like the famous sliders sold at a fast food chain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This was really bad. Too salty and with a weird, almost sour flavor from the soup mix. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't make any changes, so I guess that's just the way it's supposed to be. We didn't like it at all. I was disappointed because it sounded like it would be good. Maybe the idea would work with sauteed onions instead of the soup and dehydrated kind. The artifical flavor is just too overpowering for me as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My family loved this meal. The leftovers even became breakfast for my son. However, it called for too much mayonaise. I will certainly make this again. ***Update*** There is always quite a bit of burnt goodness on the bottom of the pan after browning the ground beef. So I add about a tablespoon of worstechire sauce to the pan after removing the ground beef to deglaze the pan. I then mix in the sauce with the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I goofed and added the onion soup mix after browning the hamburger so I thought that was why mine were so oniony but after reading other reviews, I think I will reduce soup mix to half and try again ( following directions ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Good stuff! I used ground turkey and only the envelope of onion soup mix. I did fiddle around with seasonings once the cheese was melted in, I added ketchup, mustard and some Worcestershire sauce. These are great little sandwiches-it makes a lot which is handy, I like keeping them in the freezer and reheating them for a quick dinner with soup or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
As writen this recipe has waaaayyy too much dried minced onion. I read the rewiews and decreased the onion and these were yummy. I don't suggest making so many that you have left overs, though. They do not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States