Favorite Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
very good , I used butter for shortening, could be a bit more flavorful, by adding a can of corn?.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Homemade Jiffy! Easy and Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used this basic recipe to make cornbread for stuffing at thanksgiving and again to serve with chili.....this is not a super sweet recipe...but that's what my family likes. Its not as sweet as Jiffy mix (perfect for dressing!). I did the butter instead of shortening substitution and decreased the salt as a previous reviewer suggested. perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I loved it! Hubby loved it! I was so proud it wasn't from a box. My mother-in-law makes the jiffy boxed kind and it was better than this! Served it with old fashioned potato soup from this site. Great cold weather dinner. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was so good!! I've never made cornbread from scratch until now. I've always used the blue box kind; didn't have one on hand to go with my New Year's blackeyed peas. I've had corn meal sealed in a Food Saver bag for eons, so I thought I'd give this a shot. I'm so glad I did too! I didn't have shortning so I replaced it with an off brand veg. oil. I also mixed 1/2 c. skim milk w/half and half (had to save the rest of my half & half for tomorrow morn. coffee :D ) because I didn't have whole milk which I try to use when making a new recipe. The next time I'll try full skim milk to see what difference it makes. Per another review I soaked the corn meal for approx. 10 min. Anyway, this turned out moist and sweet, just wonderful. When I pulled it out of the oven after 20 min. the center was a bit taller then the edges and I thought 'uh oh", thinking the edges would be dry~it wasn't Don't know why it came out that way, possibly because my baking soda is at least a yr. old? Whatever. Like I said this was really good~try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love it!! I made it today for the first time. I did add a little more milk, but other then that it was perfect ( I like my bread moist) Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I used whole wheat white flour, lowfat buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter in place of the shortening. This turned out well, though a little on the dry side. That could be because I used whole wheat white flour, but I see that other reviewers had the same issue. It's good, but not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
It's not bad!! but I found that is dry and need a little more sugar... but it's OK!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I gave this recipe a bad rating because my corn bread tastes REALLY bad. I can't tell whats throwing off the taste. I followed the recipe 100%...I do like sweet cornbread but this is not just unsweet (I saw some others said that they added more sugar), it actually is leaving a bad after taste (at first its yummy, its the aftertaste that I'm not caring for)... When I try out new recipes they generally taste good....But I'm not afraid to admit that this could be the result of a "user error"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Really good warm, a little dry when it cools down, but that won't keep me from making it again and oh so easy to make, the whole family loved it!Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States