Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I made this for my husband for Father's Day, and used a chocolate frosting recipe I found on this site that used cream cheese and baker's chocolate and put candied mint-leaves on top. I think it's really really good! The cake is very rich and moist! I've got the leftover cake in the refrigerator and if you put a slice in the microwave for 20 seconds, and top with ice cream, it's delicious. The frosting microwaves well because of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This is a really yummy cake for all the family...not very chocolatey actually, but it was moist and delicious. The day after making it, we sliced it down the middle, put some pieces of high quality chocolate in the centre, put it in the microwave for 30 seconds until the chocolate pieces melted and then we ate it like a sandwich. The taste was incredibly decadent and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This was the first cake I've ever made and it turned out great! i used semi-sweet chocolate since one review said it wasn't chocolately enough. it could have been a bit more moist (maybe add some oil next time?) according to my husband, but everyone else thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
this was the first cake i ever made from scratch...it turned out great...i also suggest using semi-sweet chocalate bars and using about 2 oz. thats what i used and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a great recipe. I didn't have bakers chocolate, SO instead I used hersheys natural cocoa powder mixed with the amount of water recipe indicates and a tablespoon extra of butter. This cake is not super chocolaty as I thought, it is sutble. perfect with some white whipped frosting and sliced strawberrys. It was a major hit , I am definatly making this cake again. btw i chose to use all natural and organic ingredients. although that doesnt change the calorie intake it is gratifying knowing I am not eating hydrogenated dye filled food. Kudos to this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this was aan amazing chocolate cake! definately somthing i will make again. great work syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Wow, what a great chocolate cake! I used 2 squares semi-sweet and 1 square unsweetened chocolate based on the reviews. This fluffy chocolate cake was STILL moist after 8 days in the fridge. Definitely a keeper recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used all brown sugar, and added 1/4 c cocoa (i like dark choc) with a 1/4 tsp cinnamon and these were awesome! I frosted them with my grandma's cooked choc icing recipe and they were yummy! My mini cupcakes only needed about 14 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I added mint and frosted with Mint Butter Cream frosting and topped with mint shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made this into cupcakes, and they turned out really well. For me, at least, the batter turned out really thick, almost like chocolate mousse (and was really yummy!) I baked the cupcakes at 350 for about 15 minutes. They were not overly sweet, which worked well with the super-sweet frosting we put on top. We'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States