Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
It was bad...It was dry and chalky...I was embarrassed...there are better cake recepies out there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Something went terribly wrong. We were so excited to make this recipe, but it came out not to my liking It looked beautiful while in the oven, but sank as soon as we pulled it out. It also looked and felt really moist, but was extremely dry and crumbly. I have NO idea what went wrong. We did use cocoa and oil as a substitution for the unsweetened baking squares, but I don't think that would've ruined the recipe this much. Also, there were CHUNKS! It was like we had put peanuts in the batter or something. We were very disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I added mint and frosted with Mint Butter Cream frosting and topped with mint shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used all brown sugar, and added 1/4 c cocoa (i like dark choc) with a 1/4 tsp cinnamon and these were awesome! I frosted them with my grandma's cooked choc icing recipe and they were yummy! My mini cupcakes only needed about 14 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Wow, what a great chocolate cake! I used 2 squares semi-sweet and 1 square unsweetened chocolate based on the reviews. This fluffy chocolate cake was STILL moist after 8 days in the fridge. Definitely a keeper recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this was aan amazing chocolate cake! definately somthing i will make again. great work syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a great recipe. I didn't have bakers chocolate, SO instead I used hersheys natural cocoa powder mixed with the amount of water recipe indicates and a tablespoon extra of butter. This cake is not super chocolaty as I thought, it is sutble. perfect with some white whipped frosting and sliced strawberrys. It was a major hit , I am definatly making this cake again. btw i chose to use all natural and organic ingredients. although that doesnt change the calorie intake it is gratifying knowing I am not eating hydrogenated dye filled food. Kudos to this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake was awesome I made it for my Grandma's 71st birthday and it was a big hit. But it was just a tad dry no one noticed but I did. I put some chocolate frosting on it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Used a 13x9 pan, and baked for 50 min total. Delicious, and everyone enjoyed it :). Because some said it was dry, and I'm in deserty Colorado, added 2 egg yolks and 1/2 cup yogurt and 1 cup chocolate chips. Made icing with butter, cocoa, p. sugar and Bailey's Irish Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle terese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made this into cupcakes, and they turned out really well. For me, at least, the batter turned out really thick, almost like chocolate mousse (and was really yummy!) I baked the cupcakes at 350 for about 15 minutes. They were not overly sweet, which worked well with the super-sweet frosting we put on top. We'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States