Favorite Black Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
THIS IS A GREAT COOKIE MY HUSBAND REALLY LIKES THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Black walnuts are my favorite nut, and these cookies turned out wonderfully both times I made them. They really showcase the unique nutty flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe. One batch will not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This cookie was a big hit with friends and family. I had trouble finding enough chopped black walnuts so added ground black walnuts to the flour mixture as well as adding some chopped to the recipe. VERY walnutty :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I made a ton of these for a cookie swap and to take to work. They disappeared immediately! They are deceptively plain-looking, but fantastically tasty! Very buttery, nutty, and crisp. I agree that they are superb with some tea - especially some Earl Grey. Gigantic thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I've made these three or four times over the last year, and they are indeed incredibly easy to make. They are good with chocolate chips and with almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Absolutely wonderful cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I give this 5 stars only because I used regular walnut meats instead of black walnuts. Easy recipe and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a most appreciated recipe. My husband and I collected black walnuts from three trees in our neighborhood. We hulled the nuts, cured them, cracked them, chopped them, and put them into this recipe. I'd never before experienced the taste of black walnuts (very different from English walnuts). Maybe I loved the taste so much because of all the work we put into preparing the nuts. This recipe, however, was easy to make, and the resulting cookies were quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were wonderful! No changes at all are needed. They are crisp and not too sweet. I cooked one batch and left the rest of the dough rolled up in the refrigerator. Tonight I pulled it out and made another fresh pan of cookies. Definitely a winner. These can obviously be made ahead of time and cooked right before serving. 12-24-2010 A friend of mine made these and substituted margarine for the butter. They did not come out as well, were not as crisp and the flavor was different. It is important, especially when baking, to use the same ingredients. Butter makes cookies crisper and allows the baker to make a more delicate cookies, thinner and crisper without baking them brown. She and I remade them and compared the two side-by-side. It was really a different recipe. Also, bring the eggs and butter to room temperature before creaming them, but do not microwave the butter to get it runny. It changes the way that it mixes with the sugar and eggs and you will not get the result that you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States