Favorite Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because it did not taste much like barbecue sauce. It tastes more like a sweet and sour sauce. Although it is still good it was just not what I was expecting. I am still looking for a good homemade barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is so good! I left out the vinegar because I didn't have any but added a little Dale's sauce and a splash of Jack Daniel's whiskey. Baked it in the oven and it turned out great. Maybe next time will coat the chicken lightly with flour so the sauce will stick better. I'm thinking about shredding chicken & putting this on baked potatoes--yum. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyparker216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Seriously delicious. I was a bit worried when I was making the sauce... it smelled and tasted a lot like sweet and sour sauce. I ended up marinating overnight, and threw them on the grill. A giant fire ensued so I took them off the grill, and threw them in the oven with sauce. Didn't end up tasting like sweet and sour at all! Perfectly balanced and tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I wouldn't rate it if I hadn't followed the recipe exactly. I cannot figure out why everyone thinks it's so good. Even my son said the kitchen smelled bad. It seemed fine until I added the Worcestershire sauce. Then it really seemed unappetizing. We went through with it thinking cooking would help. Luckily, we had some store-bought sauce to mask the chicken when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
So yummy - and so much better than the bottled stuff from the store. This is the first time that I have made my own BBQ sauce, and it was so simple, and so worth it. The only mistake I made was not making enough. My kids don't usually go nuts for BBQ chicken, but when they finished their piece, they were looking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was yummy! I did the recipe as is and it was easy and delicious. Next time I will add some celery seed,or a celery leaf to the sauce,I think that will enhance it.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 because I needed to add something to really give this a barbecue taste. I followed the directions and tasted the sauce before putting on the chicken and I knew it was missing something. I added a few drops (maybe 1/2 teaspoon) of liquid smoke. That was it. Now it tastes like barbecue sauce and is 5 stars! Yummy! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this as written, although I grilled them for 30 min. I put the sauce on first, and then again for the last 5. My family ate twice the amount of chicken they normally do... the kids requested thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! I baked the chicken breasts instead of grilling & it was still a 5 star recipe! I just poured the cooled sauce over the breasts in a 8x8 dish & threw them in the oven. No doubts that grilling would be stellar (no outdoor grill here in the city), but baking covered at 350 for 35 minutes turned out moist & flavorful chicken breasts with that flavorful barbecue sauce glazed over the top. We loved it! Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by Rebby713
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Holy cow, this chicken is AMAZING! I've tried quite a few bbq chicken recipes from this site and this is the first that really blew my tastebuds away. My bf, who really isn't a fan of bbq chicken but is a good sport and eats it when I make it anyway, took one bite of this chicken and said, "We're having this one again, right?" I didn't change a thing and followed the recipe exactly. It will now be the ONLY bbq sauce we use in our house. Thanks so much Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States