Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe because I love blueberries and bananas. But unfortunately these two flavors were not meant to be. And the texture of the oats was not quite the quick bread I am used to. Very easy to make though and the only reason I gave it three stars is because of my own personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was really good and I really goofed it up, the Lord only knows how it managed to turn out so well. :) I made these into muffins, substituted milk instead of eggs and couldn't whip the butter due to a sleeping husband. These looked gross going in and didn't rise a lot but taste so good, I'd definitely make this again and do it correctly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Excellent banana bread! As some other reviewers said I also substituted applesauce for the shortening, slightly less than a cup of sugar, a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, wheat germ, and flax seed. My 20 month old gobbled his piece up and asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
We love this recipe!!! Made muffins (24) yesterday and between snack and breakfast almost gone. I add 1 cup of blueberries as we love them so much. Substituted 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 apple sauce for shortening, also did 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown. It kind of has a maple flavor now. Oh, is it good!! I used 2 cups flour plus the 2 tablespoons of flour for flouring the blueberries. It is very moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Wonderful recipe! My family loved these!! Followed ingredient list pretty much as posted except I used instant blueberry flavored oatmeal (only thing I had on hand) in place of the quick cooking oats. I sprayed muffin tin with pam and sprinkled with a mix of cinnamon and sugar. It added a nice touch. I made 6 XL muffins and cooked for 25 minutes. I think next time I will add 1/4 Cup more blueberries and sprinkle the cinn-sugar mix on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I just got done making this bread, and I love it! It looks like its going to be dry on the outside but inside its very moist. The only thing I did differently was instead of shortening I added one stick of margarine, (personal taste preference). I also added some vanilla extract for some extra flavor. And I didn't have pecans on hand so I chopped up some walnuts instead. Very good...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This bread is excellent. Not too sweet and VERY MOIST - I expect it to still be moist even after a couple of days (it will probably freeze very well too). I used 4 overripe bananas and used applesauce instead of shortening as per many of the other reviews. Bread doesn't rise very much but that's okay. Try toasting this bread - absolutely excellent. Oh, and I also added about 1/2 tsp of both cinnamon and nutmeg and 1 tsp of vanilla. Think I will add a full tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg next time for an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I thought this turned out really moist. I used Splenda instead of sugar and added a heaping cup of blueberries. I also substituted half of the shortening with unsweetened applesauce. Thanks for the great recipe! I will definitely be making this again! I did not have any problem with the inside being undercooked and baked for a total of 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My daughter, 13, made this for our county fair and got Reserve Grand Champion... She made it for our church and they loved it. It is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Coe Tounzen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome recipe. Used butter for shortening and ample bananas and nuts. Cooked for ~65 mins, though, and still a little gooey in the center
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States