Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I doubled the recipe - used whole wheat flour, 1 C of white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar - added a tsp of vanilla - and 1 1/2 C of frozen blueberries. baked them as muffins - 25 minutes - came out great! the doubled recipe came out to 30 muffins. good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Really really yummy loaf, I added cinnamon and vanilla just as a matter of personal taste and used margarine instead of shortening. It came out really good, my only complaint would be that it is not quite bananaey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is a great bread recipe and really forgiving. I ran out of everything while making it and it still made a great loaf. I made it in a breadmaker using the cake setting (I was worried it wouldn't cook through but it did and it was moist and delicious, whew!), To show how forgiving this bread is: I didn't have oats so I added a half cup of Swiss Muesli (containing dates and raisens along with oats, concerning but it actually tasted good in the end), I ran out of walnuts while filling the measuring cup and so I added almond flour to come to 1/2 cup. I added half butter and half oil due to butter shortage, and I cut down a bit on the sugar because I was worried about adding so much, it was still good, but I honestly think it would have been great with full sugar amount, it wasn't at all too sweet I did half brown, half white and a touch of honey. I also added 1 cup of frozen blueberries (completely frozen at beginning of cycle), along with a teaspoon of vanilla, and ran a bit short of flour, no kidding, that one scared me. So if it can take those last minute changes and still be really good bread, there is a lot of flexibility there. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I WOULD GIVE THIS 5 STARS BUT I MODIFIED MINE. I WOULD GIVE MINE 7 STARS. I JUST DID HALF WHITE SUGAR AND HALF BROWN. THE TOP WAS CRISPY AND THE MIDDLE WAS VERY MOIST. BY FAR THE MOST AMAZING QUICK BREAD I'VE EVER HAD :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELENELIKESFOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Awesome bread, it was my first time making bread. I used 1 cup frozen blue berries instead of fresh, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of shortening, omitted the pecans, used 1/2 cup wheat flour and 1 cup ap flour, used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar. Just wonderful and tastes healthy, and I know it is to a certain degree! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I am always trying to find new healthy snacks for my kids, while using up extra fruits and vegetables. I made these into muffins and they turned out great. I used 1/2 cup oil instead of shortening (it was a light olive oil/canola mix) and frozen blueberries. I didn't thaw the blueberries, just ran them under warm water for a second to get rid of the frost. I also used 2:1 whole wheat to all purpose flour, 1:1 white sugar to brown sugar and replaced the pecans with extra oats. I baked them for 25 minutes, as suggested by another reviewer. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very moist & great for breakfast. I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves since I knew my kids would eat a whole one by themselves. Since I used frozen blueberries, I added 2 full cups (to the doubled recipe) and I used slightly less sugar since my bananas were very ripe & sweet. I didn't have ay pecans, so I used walnuts and the flavor is nice, but I think I'll leave the nuts out altogether next time. I used 6 bananas, and I think it was equal to 3 cups mashed. The baking time was exactly 50 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalabear88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good and my family loved it! The only reason I didn't give it a five was because I had to cook it about 15 minutes longer since it came out goey at 55 minutes, 60 minutes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I've made this twice now. Substituted 1/4 C applesauce and 1/4 C butter for the shortening. It came out great! I've also used 1/2 C white sugar and 1/4 C spenda brown sugar and there was no difference in taste. This last time I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves, and used 3 eggs plus 1 egg white. Came out fine. Excellent way to use up those older bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
SO GOOD!!! I made this with a splash of vanilla, 3 smallish bananas, a carton of fresh blueberries, and walnuts instead of pecans. I didn't have anything to substitute the shortening, so next time will try it healthier and see if it comes out as amazingly delicious. My boyfriend doesn't like banana bread, but asked for seconds, and thirds, of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States