Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I WOULD GIVE THIS 5 STARS BUT I MODIFIED MINE. I WOULD GIVE MINE 7 STARS. I JUST DID HALF WHITE SUGAR AND HALF BROWN. THE TOP WAS CRISPY AND THE MIDDLE WAS VERY MOIST. BY FAR THE MOST AMAZING QUICK BREAD I'VE EVER HAD :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELENELIKESFOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Awesome bread, it was my first time making bread. I used 1 cup frozen blue berries instead of fresh, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of shortening, omitted the pecans, used 1/2 cup wheat flour and 1 cup ap flour, used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar. Just wonderful and tastes healthy, and I know it is to a certain degree! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I am always trying to find new healthy snacks for my kids, while using up extra fruits and vegetables. I made these into muffins and they turned out great. I used 1/2 cup oil instead of shortening (it was a light olive oil/canola mix) and frozen blueberries. I didn't thaw the blueberries, just ran them under warm water for a second to get rid of the frost. I also used 2:1 whole wheat to all purpose flour, 1:1 white sugar to brown sugar and replaced the pecans with extra oats. I baked them for 25 minutes, as suggested by another reviewer. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very moist & great for breakfast. I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves since I knew my kids would eat a whole one by themselves. Since I used frozen blueberries, I added 2 full cups (to the doubled recipe) and I used slightly less sugar since my bananas were very ripe & sweet. I didn't have ay pecans, so I used walnuts and the flavor is nice, but I think I'll leave the nuts out altogether next time. I used 6 bananas, and I think it was equal to 3 cups mashed. The baking time was exactly 50 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalabear88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good and my family loved it! The only reason I didn't give it a five was because I had to cook it about 15 minutes longer since it came out goey at 55 minutes, 60 minutes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I've made this twice now. Substituted 1/4 C applesauce and 1/4 C butter for the shortening. It came out great! I've also used 1/2 C white sugar and 1/4 C spenda brown sugar and there was no difference in taste. This last time I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves, and used 3 eggs plus 1 egg white. Came out fine. Excellent way to use up those older bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
SO GOOD!!! I made this with a splash of vanilla, 3 smallish bananas, a carton of fresh blueberries, and walnuts instead of pecans. I didn't have anything to substitute the shortening, so next time will try it healthier and see if it comes out as amazingly delicious. My boyfriend doesn't like banana bread, but asked for seconds, and thirds, of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Superb banana blueberry bread! I used white whole wheat flour for extra fiber, and added some cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and almond extract. I also reduced the sugar a little and replaced half the fat with applesauce. The loaves came out moist, with a nice crunchy crust. The flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
waluts + whole wheat - half cup sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very tasty and smells great while cooking. We used blackberries, walnuts, and butter instead of blueberries, pecans, and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States