Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great recipe! I made a few modifications upon reading other reviews. Increased blueberries to 1 cup, used ww flour, instead of shortening i used half greek yogurt and half applesauce. I also made these into muffins instead of bread loaf. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Mmm, yummy! I really enjoyed this bread. It wasn't too sweet though which I think I liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe was OK, but I didn't find it to have much taste (I even added a little cinnamon and vanilla to the batter). It also took nearly 90 minutes to cook and I had to turn the oven down to 300 after the first 50 minutes to keep it from burning. May try one more time making it into muffins and maybe adding a little nutmeg, but this won't likely be on my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very yummy! I made a few tweaks to make it healthier. Subbing plain greek yogurt for the oil and using half brown half white sugar, this came out moist, dense, and amazing! Applesauce is good, but the yogurt is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I doubled the recipe - used whole wheat flour, 1 C of white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar - added a tsp of vanilla - and 1 1/2 C of frozen blueberries. baked them as muffins - 25 minutes - came out great! the doubled recipe came out to 30 muffins. good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Really really yummy loaf, I added cinnamon and vanilla just as a matter of personal taste and used margarine instead of shortening. It came out really good, my only complaint would be that it is not quite bananaey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is a great bread recipe and really forgiving. I ran out of everything while making it and it still made a great loaf. I made it in a breadmaker using the cake setting (I was worried it wouldn't cook through but it did and it was moist and delicious, whew!), To show how forgiving this bread is: I didn't have oats so I added a half cup of Swiss Muesli (containing dates and raisens along with oats, concerning but it actually tasted good in the end), I ran out of walnuts while filling the measuring cup and so I added almond flour to come to 1/2 cup. I added half butter and half oil due to butter shortage, and I cut down a bit on the sugar because I was worried about adding so much, it was still good, but I honestly think it would have been great with full sugar amount, it wasn't at all too sweet I did half brown, half white and a touch of honey. I also added 1 cup of frozen blueberries (completely frozen at beginning of cycle), along with a teaspoon of vanilla, and ran a bit short of flour, no kidding, that one scared me. So if it can take those last minute changes and still be really good bread, there is a lot of flexibility there. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I WOULD GIVE THIS 5 STARS BUT I MODIFIED MINE. I WOULD GIVE MINE 7 STARS. I JUST DID HALF WHITE SUGAR AND HALF BROWN. THE TOP WAS CRISPY AND THE MIDDLE WAS VERY MOIST. BY FAR THE MOST AMAZING QUICK BREAD I'VE EVER HAD :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELENELIKESFOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Awesome bread, it was my first time making bread. I used 1 cup frozen blue berries instead of fresh, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of shortening, omitted the pecans, used 1/2 cup wheat flour and 1 cup ap flour, used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup sugar. Just wonderful and tastes healthy, and I know it is to a certain degree! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I am always trying to find new healthy snacks for my kids, while using up extra fruits and vegetables. I made these into muffins and they turned out great. I used 1/2 cup oil instead of shortening (it was a light olive oil/canola mix) and frozen blueberries. I didn't thaw the blueberries, just ran them under warm water for a second to get rid of the frost. I also used 2:1 whole wheat to all purpose flour, 1:1 white sugar to brown sugar and replaced the pecans with extra oats. I baked them for 25 minutes, as suggested by another reviewer. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States