Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Another good way to use up some blueberries. This bread is a little heavier than other fruit breads due to the oatmeal. It is moist and a great addition to any meal. I like it best toasted for breakfast. I made it as written and made 3 mini loaves rather than 1 big loaf. Thanks MARBALET for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
The bread is very good, but the blueberries still ended up mostly on the bottom. I baked this bread without the sugar, so it was barely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Yum! I used 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour, skipped the pecans, 1/2 canola oil and 1/2 applesauce in lieu of the shortening, egg substitute, and an extra small handful of blueberries. I also added some cinnamon and almond extract. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great recipe! I made a few modifications upon reading other reviews. Increased blueberries to 1 cup, used ww flour, instead of shortening i used half greek yogurt and half applesauce. I also made these into muffins instead of bread loaf. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Mmm, yummy! I really enjoyed this bread. It wasn't too sweet though which I think I liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe was OK, but I didn't find it to have much taste (I even added a little cinnamon and vanilla to the batter). It also took nearly 90 minutes to cook and I had to turn the oven down to 300 after the first 50 minutes to keep it from burning. May try one more time making it into muffins and maybe adding a little nutmeg, but this won't likely be on my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very yummy! I made a few tweaks to make it healthier. Subbing plain greek yogurt for the oil and using half brown half white sugar, this came out moist, dense, and amazing! Applesauce is good, but the yogurt is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I doubled the recipe - used whole wheat flour, 1 C of white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar - added a tsp of vanilla - and 1 1/2 C of frozen blueberries. baked them as muffins - 25 minutes - came out great! the doubled recipe came out to 30 muffins. good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Really really yummy loaf, I added cinnamon and vanilla just as a matter of personal taste and used margarine instead of shortening. It came out really good, my only complaint would be that it is not quite bananaey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is a great bread recipe and really forgiving. I ran out of everything while making it and it still made a great loaf. I made it in a breadmaker using the cake setting (I was worried it wouldn't cook through but it did and it was moist and delicious, whew!), To show how forgiving this bread is: I didn't have oats so I added a half cup of Swiss Muesli (containing dates and raisens along with oats, concerning but it actually tasted good in the end), I ran out of walnuts while filling the measuring cup and so I added almond flour to come to 1/2 cup. I added half butter and half oil due to butter shortage, and I cut down a bit on the sugar because I was worried about adding so much, it was still good, but I honestly think it would have been great with full sugar amount, it wasn't at all too sweet I did half brown, half white and a touch of honey. I also added 1 cup of frozen blueberries (completely frozen at beginning of cycle), along with a teaspoon of vanilla, and ran a bit short of flour, no kidding, that one scared me. So if it can take those last minute changes and still be really good bread, there is a lot of flexibility there. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States