Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I just made this yesterday. I did a double batch. It made one regular loaf and four mini-loaves. It was REALLY good! There are so many banana bread recipes out there, & hard to get one that isn't dry. I think this would be good with or without the blueberries. I had a bag of frozen, which is what I used, & did not thaw them first-just left the bag on the counter until I was ready for them. The only changes I made were tiny - I added 1/4 cup of wheat germ bec it was on the table in front of me (decreased flour by that much), and tossed in some cinnamon. Unlike some, I didn't find it to be dense, so perhaps someone did not cream the ingredients long enough? All thumbs up for this recipe - I'll definitely make this one again! Thanks for sharing! I can't think of a better use for dying bananas! (The mini loaves are gone, and Hubby is taking the big loaf to work for a bake sale. Darn it! No midnight snacking!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricrocs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Like everyone else it seems I added something to this recipe. 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I was just shy 1 cup sugar so I added about 1/3 cup brown sugar...not packed however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Yum! I also added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, baked this in mini loaf pans and it was great! Love the oatmeal in there. Next time I'll use the recipe to make muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Love this bread. I did use applesauce for the lower fat version. I usually only give 5 stars if I follow recipe exactly as written, but for this I made an exception. Like it that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Not that spectacular, really. I used applesauce instead of shortening, as others suggested, and the edges were rubbery. I did not need any extra cook time, as 55 mins at 350 was almost too long for the loaf- I removed it right from the pan so it would not continue to cook the extra 10 minutes suggested. I was disappointed, definitely have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is the recipe I use EVERYTIME for banana bread!!! Going on... at least 15 times. There are only two alternatives to this I toy around with - I'll add Ocean Spray Blueberries instead of fresh (it makes it taste fresher longer) & instead of using flour to prepare the pan, I'll use cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe with a few modifications! I subbed half a cup of apple sauce plus 1/4 cup oil for the shortening and I used rolled oats because thats all I had on hand and this came out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Made this will additional blueberries and half and half white and brown sugar. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is good and easy. I used oil instead of shortening and didn't use my electric mixer. I used 1 c. blueberries b/c they needed to be used. Added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla, and used half brown sugar. Mine took a about 65 or 70 minutes to bake through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

Displaying results 21-30 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States