Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Traded out the shortening for applesauce and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I ate half of it straight away, that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious!! I just cut the sugar by only using 1/4 a cup and replaced the shortening with applesauce! :) yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this per my 4 year old daughters request for a blueberry and banana cake....lol. Turned out really nice. I did substitute applesauce for the shortening and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 reg sugar but these are all normal for me. I usually try to make things a bit healthier if I can since it is mostly my 2 and 4 year old eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I just made this yesterday. I did a double batch. It made one regular loaf and four mini-loaves. It was REALLY good! There are so many banana bread recipes out there, & hard to get one that isn't dry. I think this would be good with or without the blueberries. I had a bag of frozen, which is what I used, & did not thaw them first-just left the bag on the counter until I was ready for them. The only changes I made were tiny - I added 1/4 cup of wheat germ bec it was on the table in front of me (decreased flour by that much), and tossed in some cinnamon. Unlike some, I didn't find it to be dense, so perhaps someone did not cream the ingredients long enough? All thumbs up for this recipe - I'll definitely make this one again! Thanks for sharing! I can't think of a better use for dying bananas! (The mini loaves are gone, and Hubby is taking the big loaf to work for a bake sale. Darn it! No midnight snacking!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricrocs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Like everyone else it seems I added something to this recipe. 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I was just shy 1 cup sugar so I added about 1/3 cup brown sugar...not packed however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Yum! I also added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, baked this in mini loaf pans and it was great! Love the oatmeal in there. Next time I'll use the recipe to make muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Love this bread. I did use applesauce for the lower fat version. I usually only give 5 stars if I follow recipe exactly as written, but for this I made an exception. Like it that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Not that spectacular, really. I used applesauce instead of shortening, as others suggested, and the edges were rubbery. I did not need any extra cook time, as 55 mins at 350 was almost too long for the loaf- I removed it right from the pan so it would not continue to cook the extra 10 minutes suggested. I was disappointed, definitely have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States