Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this with half butter &half apple sauce in place of shortening..i also made this with 1.25c of gluten free flour blend the rest almond meal. This came out way better than i expected. Gf doesnt always work for all recipes. The consistency is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle M Gierald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this as a spur of the moment breakfast for my grandson so I made some necessary substitutions. I used butter instead of shortening, I had overripe bananas in the freezer and used them with the separated liquid after defrosting and since they were so sweet I cut the sugar in half. I didn't have quick cooking oats so I used old fashioned oats and I used frozen, drained blueberries and doubled the amount. I did not add nuts. The end result was a slightly sweet quick bread, sweet enough to eat on it's own but really perfect toasted with butter. I think next time I would like to try the same recipe but with a moist sweetner like honey or agave as the bread was not dry but I would have preferred just a tad moister...may have had to do with the fact I used regular oats and btw, no one would ever know there were oats in this bread, great way to sneak a healthy grain in for the kids. The ease of this recipe makes it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I normally do not care for banana bread but this is much lighter and the addition of blueberries (no need to thaw) is the icing on the cake. I do use half butter and half shortening (could not imagine subsituting all applesauce) and decreased sugar by 1/4 c. because it is plenty sweet enough for us. A nice change in a bread and the creaming method give it a much lighter texture. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Very good! I did make a couple small changes. I used applesauce in place of shortening. I also used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I am not sure why it is called "quick" bread. I had to cook mine for over an hour before it was cooked all the way thru. But it was worth the wait. Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My, what a fabulous recipe. I made it just as written. I had so many over-ripe bananas that I doubled it. I could only find one loaf pan, so I made one loaf and one tin of muffins. Both were out of this world with plenty of banana flavor and just the right amount of blueberry. The nuts gave it a nice little crunch. I'll say it again--these were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think using frozen blueberries caused this loaf to take too long to bake resulting in overdone edges and a raw centre. I will defrost or use fresh blueberries next ti e to see if that helps. I like the idea of this recipe but it won't be worth saving if it doesn't bake properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very disappointed in this bread. Everyone was saying put applesauce in instead of shortening, so I used both. Went over a bit with the applesauce, but pretty much equaled 1/2 cup. Didn't have nuts, but used everything else. Filled one bread pan to the brim, I should have used 2 smaller pans. Did not bake in 55 minutes. Had to cover the top after over an hour of baking because inside was still raw. I lost track of how long I baked it, 1 & 1/2 hours? When the inside FINALLY cooked, I took it out, let it cool. It was soooo bland. It needed more salt, it has not much taste at all. It had not much flavor at all, all I could taste was the banana! The blueberries don't even taste like blueberries, they might as well have been less expensive raisins because the banana dominated. Putting salted butter on it helped a lot, it was just that bland. Also, the quick oatmeal had some that didn't soften, so they were like little 'watch out for your dental work' rocks! I don't know what I did that was so different coming out in my oven than the stellar reviews I read on here, but it was a waste of ingredients. Especially very expensive blueberries. Sorry, never again. Maybe I shouldn't have used applesauce and shortening... couldn't taste the applesauce at all, and even after all that cooking time, it was STILL a little raw inside! Very disappointed...:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe has all that i love! Bananas, blueberries and oatmeal. I halved the recipe, used brown sugar instead of white..decreased the amt, add a little vanilla and made mini muffins instead. And oh,i added some granolas instead of the pecans cos i haven't got any. Very moist and delicious! I will try again with applesauce the next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
SO good! Didn't have shortening so used unsalted butter. Left out the other 1/4 tsp salt as well and the nuts. This is my new favorite banana bread receipe - throwing away all the others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
amazingly delicious! easy and moist, just perfect. i love how there are oats in it. i personally don't care for a lot of sugar, so i cut it in half and it was still great. I also added vanilla (suggested by other reviewers) and a touch of lemon to bring out the sweetness of the blueberries,which made this beyond a 5 star recipe. thanks marbalet for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States