Faux-reos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great recipe. Very easy. I cut the recipe in half, replaced half of the shortening with peanut butter. I am vegan so I used egg replacer. They are very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LesaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We didn't like these cookies... WE LOVED THEM! They turned out great! I used the Faux-reo frosting and I couldn't have been happier. Neither could my family. This makes a TON of cookies, so next time I will halve the recipe. 8 minutes was the perfect time to cook for me. They were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Thanks for such an outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwoLeftThumbsCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these for an office function--first time I made them, they were a fantastic hit! I accidentally made the cookies a little bigger so the end result looked like moon pies. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I halved the recipe and used a really cheap $1 cake mix box, these cookies flatten out nicely in the oven. This recipe was really easy to make. My hubby said these were good. And that I should make them again. I used Faux-reos Filling with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were quite time-consuming. I rolled them into very small balls, about marble size. But, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to leave them as balls, or flatten them - I couldn't tell from the recipe. (Common sense told me to flatten them and that's what I did). They were really cute and they were easy to fill using the "baggie" method. (used the faux-reo filling recipe on this site). All-in-all, they turned out quite pretty, but, I won't make them again. The kids ate a few each, but all the adults that tried them only ate one. I know if something is good when not only the kids gobble it up, but the adults too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very rich and sweet! I used fun-fetti cake mix. Reminded me of cookies I get at the mall. My 2 year old loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by MommyMakesIt
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
These were great, the kids thought they were better than store bought Oreo's and they were so easy. I followed the recipe to a T and they turned out LOVELY! I wouldnt change a thing! We will make these over and over. My son's 1st grade class loved him too, so his birthday was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMakesIt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I cut the recipe in 1/2. It still made plenty. Everyone loved them. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Ok these arent oreos, but they are great! I used one box of chocolate fudge cake mix (didnt have devils food), one stick of butter (I try to stay away from shortening as much as possible), two eggs and vanilla. How simple! I am leaning towards the fluffy peanut butter frosting that is on this site to fill them. I think strawberry cake mix next time with the "faux-reos" filling sound very good also! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blairstown, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
FABULOUS! Just made these today and I think I got about 4 dozen. I made mine the size of quarters maybe? They are still soft on the outside as I baked only 8 minutes, so if you want crunchy ones maybe bake 10. The filling is very good, but I think I would add more cream cheese next time, less sugar and a little milk. The consistancy of it was perfect! These are great, I am gonna make them ALL the time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States